Google+

Sorry not sorry…

3

April 7, 2015 by 250 Beers

I’ve thought long and hard about writing and publishing this blog post for a week now. I believe an apology is in order.

You see, last Wednesday was the first day of April – April Fool’s Day – a day traditionally associated with practical jokes. It basically means that a few dickheads try to con people into believing some bullshit.

One such dickhead was me

I never really got into April Fool’s Day. In fact, as a kid I did. Once or twice my brother and I would swap the bagged contents of a few carton packed breakfast cereals around. The result was that Mum would pour Dad’s breakfast into a bowl instead of her own and vice versa. Cue comedy snare drum and cymbal crash.

Since the inception of 250beers.com I’ve tried duping people with varied results. First up was the release of Hop-X in 2013 – a hoppy version of the famous XXXX brand. My immaturity lead to a few calls being made to the brewery in Milton. Chuckles. Hop-X became reality a few months later when Wade Curtis at 4 Hearts ended up releasing a single keg of it! Then last year I had a hop tattoo done on my shoulder. Guffaw.

This year’s silliness only really came together late on the evening of March 31st. I had an idea of what I wanted to fool people with a few weeks prior but I’d totally forgotten about it until the night before Dickhead Day. I penned the blog post, scheduled it to publish the next morning and then hit the hay. Zzzzzz.

Nothing prepared me for the onslaught the next morning and throughout the day. I’d suckered so many people in with the faux news that I was releasing my own brand of beer with an initial Queensland India Pale Ale (QIPA). Some were truly on board with it and very supportive. To help gauge the strength and effects of my clowning around I’d asked people to email me directly if they wanted to try a sample.

I got pummelled with enquiries via social media, text messages and emails – which included interest from Perth, Melbourne and Sydney not just here in Queensland.

I won’t name and shame but I just wanted to apologise publicly to those people and thank them for all of their kind words and support. I’m sorry!

Hop-X came true. You never know…so might the QPIA.

3 thoughts on “Sorry not sorry…

  1. D says:

    XXXX Pale Ale…it’s a thing, give it a few months…

  2. Roon says:

    Top Japes. Got ’em!

    Anyway, please let me know if you have any Opal Firlo left over. I tried that variety way back in its experimental phase – it’s very good…

  3. […] What’s one of your blog posts that you like the most? This is a tough question and one that I’ll avoid slightly. The blog posts that I’ve had the most fun with are the April Fool Day gags. This year’s attempt in particular managed to sucker in a ridiculous amount of people across all of my social media avenues. I’d suggested that there was going to be a brand of beer under the 250 Beers banner with an impending release of a QIPA (Queensland IPA). The response was so crazy that I decided to reply to everybody individually with an apology. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

