Google+

It’s coming, it’s coming! Brewsvegas is near!

2

March 19, 2015 by 250 Beers

Brewsvegas-15-BannerWith more than 120 Brewsvegas events on the near horizon – the first of which (the launch party) is about to become reality in just a few days time – I’m still pondering my own personal Brewsvegas diary. I have very little planned and very few things actually locked-in to date – nothing like leaving things until the last minute. My three year old son is the same…almost pisses his pants every time he needs to go.

I’ve deliberately set out not to repeat my feats of last year where I attended 19 different events and consumed 89 beers over the course of the week (for the beer geeks out there 52 of the 89 were ‘uniques’). Seriously, it took me a good few weeks after Brewsvegas ’14 to recover and get my sanity and liver back to normal.

Not only was it unhealthy but by cramming so much into such a short space of time, many events rolled into another and the whole thing ended up – quite frankly – as a bit of a blur. The only things to be extremely vivid from a year ago are my journeys home.

For those unaware, I live approximately 40 kilometres north of Brisbane which is about an hour on the train from the CBD. On at least three occasions – mainly due to intoxication – I stuffed up my travel plans and ended up getting home very (very) late. The pick of the bunch was when a couple of security twats on my train thought it would be funny to let me know that I’d arrived at my station one stop too early. I say ‘twats’ because it was the last train and I had no way of getting one stop further up the line. I hopped off the train thinking I had a 20 minute walk home. Instead I was greeted with a 5 kilometre/60 minute hike in pitch black darkness, in torrential rain (with no umbrella), through muddy terrain whilst wearing just flip-flops (thongs to you Aussies), a t-shirt and a pair of shorts. To say that I was fucked off beyond belief would be an understatement. I growled under my breath like Dick Dastardly’s Muttley all the way home. This was the same night that when I arrived home saturated I stripped naked, cooked a burrito and then ate it in the boot of my SUV in the garage to ensure I didn’t wake the kids. All was ok after that until the next morning when I quickly realised that while I’d ploughed through the burrito I’d narrated the incident for all to see on Facebook. Whoops.

I’ve digressed as usual and apologies if you’ve heard that story before. I thought by reciting it again it would make the unfortunate event easier to swallow. It didn’t work whatsoever.   

black bunny disgustationThere are so many things to choose from next week but one highlight for me will be the most northerly Brewsvegas event at Black Bunny Kitchen at Alexandra Heads on the Sunshine Coast. They’re hosting a ‘Disgustation‘ with the assurance that it ‘will tear down your perceptions of beer and food matching dinners‘ and that ‘…if you’re tired of pompous and pretentious dinners come and get back to what it’s all about: great food, handcrafted beer, a few laughs and good times.

This sounds so appealing to me. I like good food as much as the next guy but I like good food without all of the wankery. Too many degustations bring out both the beer snob and the food snob in people and I bloody well hate it. Wank, wank, wank. No thanks.

Black Bunny’s approach will involve five Fortitude Brewing Co. beers and four courses of simple Americana comfort food as well as a disgustingly dirty comedian. $59 well spent I reckon. It’s happening next Thursday 26th March and there are still some tickets available here.

Not only does this event tick a lot of boxes for me but the ‘Disgustation’ will feature the release of a Black Bunny Kitchen/Fortitude Brewing Co collaboration beer called ‘Ada’s Ale’ – a hop forward American Amber style beer that is very personal to both Josh and his wife, Aimee.

In March 2014, the couple welcomed a baby girl named Ada into the world. Unfortunately, she passed away after only a week of life. This beer has been brewed in her memory and also with the intention to help others in need. $1 from each glass of Ada’s Ale will be donated and split evenly between the Mater Hospital’s Bereavement Support Program and the Mater Little Miracles Foundation.

A karma keg of Ada’s Ale will also be tapped at 3pm Saturday 28th of March at Black Bunny. The staff will be accepting donations to those two great charities throughout the day.

While I try to fathom out exactly what to do next week, it’s tempting to suggest that I’ll attempt to publish a few Brewsvegas related blog posts during the festivities. However, I said that last year and couldn’t remember what day it was most of the time let alone type onto a keyboard. We’ll see.

The team behind Brewsvegas have put together a little promo video to help get you in the mood…

If you’re in the same predicament as me and don’t know where to start, you can plot your own week HERE.

For those that are able to make it along to the Brewsvegas 2015 launch party at Wandering Cooks, 1 Fish Lane, South Brisbane, I’ll see you there! Entry is free and the frivolities commence at 5pm.

Brewsvegas Tshirt

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s coming, it’s coming! Brewsvegas is near!

  1. Renee says:

    Needed a good giggle today and being reasonably new to your blog I had not heard that story before. Thanks for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

