Google+

The DIY…Hipster Beer Glass

7

February 24, 2015 by 250 Beers

In the second of my sporadic, non-regular DIY posts (the first of which can be found here) I’m going to show you how simple it is to set yourself on your way to being a fully fledged hipster…or, as some people call it, an utter wanker.

Maybe I’m getting old but when I first spied a photo of somebody sipping beer out of a Mason jar I did one of those comedy double takes followed by a hearty ‘It’ll never catch on’ guffaw. Seeing it first hand with my own eyes made me cringe with a shudder and it continues to make me do so.

No, no, no...

No, no, no…

No, no...

No, no…

NO MATE! JUST NO! AT YOUR AGE?!

NO MATE! JUST NO! AT YOUR AGE?!

Alas, it has caught on – no doubt thanks to those Americans – and here’s how you can be one of the dickheads cool kids…

The very first step involves hunger not thirst. You need to be hungry. Why? Because you’re going to need an empty jar. Ransack your cupboards or pantry and cook a nice meal for you and your partner that requires a jar of something. My lucky wife got served a tasty spaghetti bolognese the night I planned this – not because I’m a hero of a husband but because I had my eye on the Dolmio ‘glassware’.

Once you’ve put a smile on your partner’s face you’ll need to remove the outer label and any sticky glue remnants as well as disposing of the remaining sauce or contents from the jar. For the purpose of this exercise I rinsed my jar – or new beer glass – in warm soapy water, rinsed with cool water and allowed it to dry naturally. In fact, it was the same cleansing ritual as any other cup or glass in my house.

hipster beer glassNow, this third step is not compulsory. It involves engraving your new vessel with your brand or logo. The only reason I embraced this is because a) I have a logo and b) I happen to possess a (cheap) engraving tool that allowed me to do it. I spent no longer than 15 minutes ‘perfecting’ my new 250beers.com hipster jar with a magnifying glass and by jove doesn’t it look the bees knees? Ha!

The fourth and final step is compulsory – you need a beer to compliment your new glass. If you completed the third step and inhaled all of the glass dust like I did then you’ll definitely need a beer.

hipster beer jarI chose a dark beer (Bridge Road Brewer’s celebratory 11.2% imperial stout One Thousand) for no other reason than I wanted the darkness to really set off my engraving skills. I feared that a lighter coloured beer may not have made as big an impact.

So, there you have it. Sip away to your hipster-heart’s content. No need to thank me.

Why not give it a try yourself? Eat, wash, dry, drink! You could easily put yourself firmly on the path of becoming a first class beer wanker.

I wonder what will be the next hipster beer fad? Maybe drinking something cool out of a vase or perhaps a shoe or straight from a retro-looking teapot?

Give me strength.

Sadly, I’ll never drink another beer from a jar – including the one above. This was my first and last. The thing is…I can’t bring myself to dispose of it. If anybody is keen and wants it, email me or leave a comment below.

hipster beer jar one

7 thoughts on “The DIY…Hipster Beer Glass

  1. Andrew says:

    Wanker!

  2. Did you actually engrave it by hand? Because that is incredibly neat…

    I honestly don’t see what’s that wrong with drinking out of plain jars – kitchens love a good multitasker after all. What really irks my potato, is those places that serve out of handled jars. If you’re going to put a handle on it, just get a regular mug!

  3. I feel the impulse to make heaps of these, all of a sudden…

  4. […] Beer glasses: CRAFTD glasses and F**KING MASON JARS!!! […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

