Google+

Who the firkin hell is…Louise Klatte?

1

September 19, 2014 by 250 Beers

“What the firkin hell is this?” I hear you ask. Well, let me explain…

‘Who the firkin hell is…?’ is a weekly glimpse into the lives of individuals that work (some tirelessly) to bring the Brisbane public the very best in good beer. Some are brewers, some own/work in your favourite bar, some are retailers and some are brewery reps.

If you don’t know what a firkin is then the whole beer-related, play-on-words title will be lost on you right?! Fear not – click here for more information on firkins.

Up this week is somebody who has recently stepped out from working behind a bar and into representing a few well-known breweries.

Here’s Louise Klatte…

Louise KlatteWhat is your day job?

‘Day job’ – I am still adjusting to that term and co-existing with the day-walkers. It’s very Children of the Corn for me.

I am a professional Beer Hound. No, really. That’s what my contracted title specifies. I look after five amazing breweries for south east Queensland and northern New South Wales; Beard & Brau, Bridge Road, Epic, 8 Wired and Liberty.

How long have you been doing that for?

Six glorious weeks of beery goodness and muffin top cultivation. I say that like I never used to have stout for breakfast. I’m not going to lie, it’s been going on for a while now.

What were you up to before that?

Other than making my parents regret forking out for a private school education, before living the craft beer dream, I was on the other side of the bar serving beverages with the utmost responsibility for just on five years now. 

What is the best part about your job?

Representing a product that I genuinely love and am proud to put my name to definitely tops the list. The people in the industry in Brisbane are second to none and you can know that you’ll never be short of someone to enjoy a beer with. That and now when I wake up thinking “BEER” it’s less alcoholism more professionalism and I’m okay with that. 

What was your ‘epiphany beer’? The beer that made you ‘turn your back on cack’?

The Hitachino Red Rice Ale – if it was socially acceptable to marry a beer, this would be ‘the one’.

Have you ever had a beer that has totally blown you away? If so, what was it?

Oh my yes. The Bridge Road / Nogne O Aurora Borealis 2. I think out of the entire carton we had after Brewsvegas, 20 of them magically broke – into my mouth. Sorry Simon!

What is your preferred style of beer and why?

Hefeweizen. No, stout. Hefeweizen followed by stout. Finished with anything smoked. Or an India Red Ale.

If I gave you $100 in cash right now with the only proviso being that you had to spend it on beer, what would you indulge in?

Dieu du Ciel’s Route des epices peppercorn rye beer. I can’t go past anything with prominent malt, chocolate and caramel profiles. To be finished off with a gradual build of peppery-awesomeness ticks all the boxes for me.  

I have a large hoard of empty beer bottles and another of beer glassware. Do you have any beer-related vices?

There is definitely more beer than food in my fridge on any given day. I secretly arrange them by colour. 

In your opinion, where’s the best place to grab a decent beer in Brisbane?

Good grief, there’s not just one. If I had to narrow it down to my top three I couldn’t even do that. But I will. In no particular order; Super Whatnot, The Scratch and Green Beacon. 

What is so good about it there?

They cater to all levels of Lou – from product research and networking to charmingly irrigated to not noticing that I’ve only been served ginger ale for an hour. I love being able to walk into a venue by myself and not have to worry that I’ll be short of some awesome chat and a beer to match. 

Bottles or cans?

Bottles until the end, just for the artwork

What are your hopes for the future of Brisbane’s craft beer industry?

I can only hope that it progresses with the positive momentum that it is currently. It’s a great industry to be in and I can’t wait to see how it will expand and how I can expand with it.

This isn’t a job interview but where do you see yourself in five years time?

Without a doubt still in the craft beer industry – everyone’s like a big, drunk family. I can’t wait to learn more about brewing and put that into action. Lou’s Brews has a nice ring to it I think! 

What would your response be if somebody stopped you in the street and asked you what your favourite beer blog is?

That 250 Beers blog is pretty damn great I hear!

Thank you to Louise for her time. How good is her portfolio of breweries?! It sure must make her job easy representing a cluster of greatness like that!

Previous ‘Who the firkin hell is…?’ appearances can be found by clicking here.

One thought on “Who the firkin hell is…Louise Klatte?

  1. Lauren says:

    I would argue that if Louise thinks cans can’t have great artwork, that she check out Garage Project. They are amazing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

