Google+

My Good Beer (half) Week 2014

7

May 14, 2014 by 250 Beers

Back for a fourth year, Melbourne will witness the start of its famed Good Beer Week (GBW) this coming weekend.

Not being able to make it to GBW for the past few years has been tough. Last year in particular was difficult to bear as I really wanted to go but couldn’t due to a number of reasons. It was almost impossible to avoid mention of GBW on social media and the more I saw the more I wanted to scream in a jealous fit of rage.

Good Beer WeekPraise the Lord things are different this year. I’ll be there and I’m a little bit excited. Not only is it possible from a work perspective but Mrs 250 Beers seems to have slowly opened up to the idea of me going – thus leaving her alone with our two little shits, er, I mean beautiful angels. Actually, they’re at an age now where it isn’t a trauma to deal with them both whilst flying solo.

I arrive in Melbourne next Thursday 22nd May so I’m only in town for the back-end of GBW and of course the Great Australasian Beer Spectapular (GABS) which – for the first time – has integrated itself as part of GBW.

GABS is THE beer festival of Australia. It’s actually the main reason for me heading south to GBW. How could a beer lover not get aroused at the prospect of trying 250 beers? No, not me you crazy fool! I mean there are actually 250 different beers to try with more than 100 festival beers having been brewed specifically for the three-day event. It’s somewhat of a big deal with around 12,000 people expected to attend over the weekend of 23rd, 24th and 25th May. A potential ‘beer geek boner’ moment for sure.

I’m still struggling through my compilation of a shortlist of beers because I’m not going to get through them all. Fellow Stone Beer ‘brewer’ Glenn over at beer is your friend seems to have nailed it.

There are a number of other events that I’ve signed up for plus one or two events that I’ll try to squeeze in where I can. Here is my (current) plan of attack for my three-night stay in Melbourne:

Thursday 22nd May

I want to try out a few Pint of Origin venues for a casual look around Melbourne before donning my glad rags and heading to the Australian International Beer Awards at Docklands for a 7pm start.

Friday 23rd May

BeerMen.TV’s Hair Of The Dog Breakfast at Beer DeLuxe (Fed. Square) kicks off at 10am until 12.30pm by which time GABS will have commenced so it’ll be a walk over to the Royal Exhibition Building to get involved in the first session. My Friday evening may or may not take in the second session of GABS. I might go for an explore elsewhere…

Saturday 24th May

After a hearty breakfast somewhere – more than likely with a beer – I’ll be at The Brewers Blend at Two Birds Brewing (Spotswood) from 12pm until 5pm for a chance to catch up with the chaps from The Scratch Bar as they pour beers from some Queensland breweries. I’m sure food will then happen somewhere before another potential visit to GABS as the evening session starts at 6.30pm. I’ll then be contemplating attending the GBW Closing Party at the Terminus Hotel.

Sunday 25th May

I’m playing Sunday by ear. My flight back to Brisbane isn’t until after lunch so I’ll be cramming something in. I’m just not sure what yet…

~~~

Please feel free to follow my Good Beer Week antics on social media. I’ll endeavour to post updates and photos to my Facebook page HERE and Twitter HERE (or @250beers). You may even wish to check out my Instagram feed by following @250beers

7 thoughts on “My Good Beer (half) Week 2014

  1. Beardface151 says:

    See you on Thursday, POO rules I’m doing a pub crawl so I hope to bump into you……..
    Also I’ll be at GABS all weekend.

    Regards,
    Scotty

  2. Liam says:

    We’ll be doing something similar on Thursday and Friday too.

    What time are you getting in?

  3. Sour tap takeover thingy out at Thornbury for Sunday. Will return with a link.

  4. […] with writing a post detailing my whereabouts while in Melbourne for Good Beer Week. But seeing as how everyone else is doing it I figured I should too. Yeah, I’m a mindless sheep. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

