Google+

Alright Jimmie, I’m in!

3

May 5, 2014 by 250 Beers

It might come as a shock to those that know me and more of a complete fright to those close to me that – after a few weeks of hard deliberation – I’ve decided to join the Jim Gold-lead Blood, Sweat & Craft Beers team in this year’s 14 kilometre City2South run on June 15th.

imageJim from Tippler’s Tap sent out a call-to-arms email to Brisbane’s craft beer community last month suggesting support. My initial reaction was “Yes! I’ll get involved.” This was followed by the realisation that my 37 year-old legs haven’t moved faster than a fast walk (Kel Knight style) for maybe 11 years. I’ve spoken to Jim about joining the team on a number of occasions and he finally twisted my arm last week care of some encouraging words.

There are a couple of reasons behind my decision…

Firstly, and most importantly, is that the team are running for charity – more specifically for the Australian Cancer Research Foundation. Cancer touches all of us in some way – either directly or indirectly – and the buzz that goes with the territory of raising cash for others less fortunate is an amazing feeling. I can’t begin to describe the deep-down sense of how right it felt just a few months ago when Mark Howes (Newstead Brewing Co.) and I devised a plan to raise some funds for the Leukaemia Foundation. We ended up with a five-strong team and raised over $5,500. We simply shaved our heads to raise Leukaemia awareness as part of The World’s Greatest Shave. What a buzz. What a buzz-cut.

imageSecondly, I’m a fat bastard. Since the arrival of our two children – and with both my wife and I working full-time – there’s little chance (I wanted to say ‘fat chance’) of getting out and dedicating some serious time to burning off some calories. Due to our work locations our days start at 5.00am and finish around 9.00pm. There’s also been a steady increase of craft beer consumption over the past few years and the fabled beer belly has started to gain some momentum. If I turn sideways in the sunlight, ‘moobs’ are now an obvious part of my shadow. I’m 15 kilograms overweight so it’s time to dig those running shoes out from the back of the wardrobe and get fit again. Time to sort my shit out. I believe that the City2South run could be the instigator of a return to the old, healthier me….I’ll just need to be out training at 4am every morning from now on in. Six weeks of intense training may or may not be enough. We’ll see.

I will now admit that, as with our World’s Greatest Shave fundraiser, I’m going to spam every single one of my friends, family and colleagues with emails, links, notes and reminders urging them to donate to our cause. If you’re reading this guys then hear this: To save yourself from feeling bad every time I send out a spammy message, just click on THIS LINK now, donate and be done with it. We’re aiming for a target of $10,000.

Thank you in advance.

 

image

 

 

3 thoughts on “Alright Jimmie, I’m in!

  1. Beardface151 says:

    Go for it man I would love to fly up and run it with you guys ? Maybe beer bar band also ?

  2. […] 250 Beers – Alright Jimmie, I’m in […]

  3. […] Regular readers of this here blog may remember a post that I wrote a few weeks ago. It was all about how I’d signed my fat arse up to run in the Brisbane Times City2South 14 kilometre run on June 15th. If you have no idea what I’m talking about then click here. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

