Google+

1,000up

4

April 14, 2014 by 250 Beers

I reached another milestone last week. I drank my 1,000th unique beer…750 different beers since I named my blog after another landmark that I hit back in October 2012. It took me two years to get to 250 unique/new/different beers yet less than 18 months to crack 750 more.

Incidentally, the 1,000th came just ten months after wrangling through from number 500 (well, 501 actually).

By publicly and openly keeping a running tally of the different beers that I drink, I’d inadvertently built up the situation causing unnecessary hype – especially on the 250 Beers Facebook page. It’s only a number after all, right? Yes, it is only a number but deep down I wanted my 1,000th to be just a little bit different to a standard, run-of-the-mill lager.

There was no planning, no ritual, no fanfare. I just fancied a beer last Tuesday evening so I walked up to my beer fridge, opened it and glanced around inside. I didn’t dither or dick around I just grabbed a bottle from the top shelf, right hand side – that’s where the semi-spesh beers sit chilling (no doubt giggling amongst themselves at Mrs 250 Beers’ ciders and alcopops) – and there it was in my hand; Children of Darkness by HopDog BeerWorks.

This bottle had sat in my beer fridge since I returned from the Stone Beer brew day at Stone & Wood last month. It was a gift from Glen at Beer Is Your Friend. I say ‘gift’ but it was more of an exchange because he swapped the Children of Darkness for one of my brand spanking new bottles of 4 Hearts Pale Ale. Marginally, I came out on top. No offence Wade.

Children of darkness hopdog

Children of Darkness is a 6.5 percent black IPA that was originally brewed by HopDog as their 2012 entry for GABS. Thankfully, the microbrewery from Nowra in NSW continued to brew it. Equally gratifying was that I had one because I haven’t seen it up here in Queensland before. I’m not suggesting that it’s not around because it might be – I just haven’t personally set eyes on it. It is this, and the fact that it was a blogger swapsie, that made it a little bit extra special for my millennial beer.

Once the over zealous carbonation had settled down, I was left with a Spiegelau IPA glass pumping out sumptuous, earthy aromas of coffee and pine. It’s a bloody tasty black IPA with a resinous, dark chocolate bitterness that left a lingering dryness as well as a lingering ‘I want more’.

Glen, we shall meet again. If you happen to make a habit of keeping HopDog beers on your person then all the better.

4 thoughts on “1,000up

  1. Not Drunk and Not Speculating says:

    Nice work champ! I follow what you do and think this a pretty cool site. Keep it up!

  2. tpb03 says:

    Nice work bloke – 1000 is a difficult ticking milestone. Especially in Australia.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

