Google+

Who the firkin hell is…Cassie Potts?

1

April 11, 2014 by 250 Beers

“What the firkin hell is this?” I hear you ask. Well, let me explain…

‘Who the firkin hell is…?’ is a weekly glimpse into the lives of individuals that work (some tirelessly) to bring the Brisbane public the very best in good beer. Some are brewers, some own/work in your favourite bar, some are retailers and some are brewery reps.

If you don’t know what a firkin is then the whole beer-related, play-on-words title will be lost on you right?! Fear not – click here for more information on firkins.

This week in the firkin hot seat is Cassie Potts. Cassie is known throughout Brisbane’s craft beer industry as a lover of beer, bars, beer and beer. She’s also a friend of mine and often a night-time train buddy. Based just north of Brisbane, Cassie now plies her trade for an up and coming NSW-based brewery that are putting out some fantastic beers.

Over to you, Cassie… 

image

What is your day job?

My title with Ekim is ‘She Who Does All The Non-brewing Stuff‘…shortened to Operations Manager (not as catchy, I think).

What were you up to before that?

Oh you know, a bit of this and that…which I still do some of! Graphic design, copy-writing…even taught the odd high-school class (apologies to those affected by this). I started with Ekim initially just designing their beer labels etc. In the last few months my work with Mike [Brewer/owner] has evolved into basically a full-time position, which I’m stoked about…because I much prefer working with beer than teenagers…beer smells better.

What is the best part about your job?

Working for Ekim is one of the best things that has happened to me. Not only because I believe so strongly in the product, but because my job encompasses everything I love doing. Designing, writing, managing, marketing, bossing people around, guzzling beer…best job!

What was your ‘epiphany beer’? The beer that made you ‘turn your back on cack’?

8wired Hopwired (IPA). It was my first encounter with a truly (new world) hoppy beer, and after that, the rather posh commercial beer I’d been drinking tasting much like urine.

Have you ever had a beer that has totally blown you away? If so, what was it?

I know this is going to sound biased, but honestly, the first After Battle (Pale – Ekim) I had, blew me away. I got sent a bottle of it by Mark Mead from Warners At The Bay, and thought it was (is!) fucking ace. The intense tropical aromas; brilliant passionfruit and citrus notes on the palate, balanced with a sharp bitter and a super clean finish…I just loved it. I reviewed it for my blog at the time, and in my review named the three hops I thought were used. Mike read the review; was impressed I picked the combo and made contact with me… and here we are!

If I gave you $100 in cash right now with the only proviso being that you had to spend it on beer, what would you indulge in?

Any chance there’s a loop-hole in this deal which allows me to use it towards a flight to the US? I would love to have some super FRESH Stones, Ballast Point or Green Flash on tap. If you’re going to be a stickler and insist I spend it on bottles (and since I get Ekim’s Berserker for free), I suppose it would have to be Cantillon (like durr) or 8wired Superconductor and Fresh Hopwired.  

I have a large hoard of empty beer bottles and another of beer glassware. Do you have any beer-related vices?

Yep, never emptying my bottle-cap catch-tray. [See pic attached] They just gather on the floor, under it, most evenings. My aim is to train the dogs to put them in the bin for me…or just move house and start a fresh.

Photo 15-02-2014 1 33 24 pm (HDR)

In your opinion, where’s the best place to grab a decent beer in Brisbane?

Eikkkk. Too hard to choose. I suppose I would have to say my regular haunts are Scratch and Bosc, because they always seem to have a good/diverse range on tap. And corners to hide in…beer abysses. However, I love Kerbside and Brewhouse Brisbane for their range of bottles. 

Bottles or cans?

Cans. Easier to sneak into festivals and clubs.

What are your hopes for the future of Brisbane’s craft beer industry?

I think its travelling along hunky dory to be quite honest! I spend a lot of time in other states and I’m so proud of our tight little community of venues, brewers, reps, bloggers and punters. We really support each other; and I think this is the secret to the successful growth and maturity of our craft beer scene. Super proud of what’s happening here!

This isn’t a job interview but where do you see yourself in five years time?

Still with Ekim of course! Mike and I have a really clear vision for Ekim and its fucking exciting. I’m so fortunate to be part of the future of this brewery. That said, if Mike fires me; without doubt, I’ll be in Africa rescuing baby rhinos.

What would your response be if somebody stopped you in the street and asked you what your favourite beer blog is?

People actually write about beer? Seriously?!

Cheers to Cass for taking part. I wonder if she’s ever considered a larger bottle-cap catch tray – one that holds more than ten caps? 

Previous ‘Who the firkin hell is…?’ appearances can be found by clicking here.

One thought on “Who the firkin hell is…Cassie Potts?

  1. […] I do truly love this great 250 Beers blog. However, I do passionately miss our fellow beer lover Cassie Pott‘s scintillating blog ‘What Beer to […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

