Google+

The 250 Beers Brewsvegas Timetable

7

March 21, 2014 by 250 Beers

It’s coming…

A rollercoaster of an inaugural beer festival is coming…

…to Brisbane.

Blimey, I’m excited. I can’t wait to see how Brewsvegas turns out next week. More than 40 venues are hosting in excess of 90 events. That’s more than the average beer drinker of Brisbane can shake a stick at…and then some.

The vast majority of events were announced well over a month ago yet it’s taken me that long to piece together what I’m going to do next week. Assisting the matter was the decision to take the whole week off from my real/paid job.

Not assisting my cause was the decision by Queensland Rail to do track work on the Caboolture train line during the entire first weekend of Brewsvegas. They must really hate me. I’m due in Brisbane on Saturday (the day before Brewsvegas starts) for a covert beer mission. Oh, great, a two-hour bus journey awaits. Then home again. Oh, great, a two-hour bus journey awaits. Then back in to Brisbane again for a 9.30am kick-off at Tippler’s Tap. Oh, great, a two-hour bus journey awaits (at silly o’clock in the morning). Then home again Sunday afternoon/evening. Oh, great, a two-hour bus journey awaits.

Brewsvegas, do I love you enough to spend eight hours on buses in one weekend? Yes, you lucky thing, I do   xoxox

Here’s what’s on my agenda for Brewsvegas 2014…

Sunday 23rd March

What:  Industry & Media Breakfast

Where:  Tippler’s Tap, 22 Masters Street

When:  9.30am

Cost:  Invite only

I consider myself extremely lucky to be in possession of a rare ticket for this event. I feel a little bit like that grotty kid from Willie Wonka that snagged a golden ticket. It will be a privilege to rub shoulders with industry types over a gourmet breakfast. The very first drops of the official Brewsvegas beer will be pouring too.

What:  Hoo-Ha-Beque

Where:  Hoo-Ha Bar, 41 Tribune Street

When:  12 noon onwards

Cost:  Free

I’m busting to visit Hoo-Ha Bar as I’m yet to visit. A BBQ with 12 different beers flowing throughout the day seems like a bloody good excuse to get there.

What:  Uncle Scratch’s Matches

Where:  The Scratch, 1 Park Road

When:  12 noon onwards

Cost:  Free

I may not make it to The Scratch for this event as I’m keen to get to Kerbside but there’s a fair bit happening here that will be worth a look. The highlight for me will be the tapping of four collaboration beers. Might just have to sneak in if time permits.

What:  Craft Alley

Where:  Kerbside, cnr Ann Street/Constance Street

When:  12 noon until 8pm

Cost:  $15 online ($20 on the door)

This is certain to be a chilled-out event that is sure to get busy. In true Sunday session style, there will be all sorts of beers pouring from breweries all over Australia.

Monday 24th March

BFD (Brewsvegas Free Day)

Tuesday 25th March

What:  Holgate Brew School

Where:  Archive Beer Boutique, 100 Boundary Street

When:  11am – 4pm

Cost:  $25

Why wouldn’t I miss the opportunity to spend five hours with Holgate head brewer, Paul Holgate, as he brews his famous Road Trip IPA right in front of my very face? Lunch and beers included. Woo hoo!

What:  Instagrammy Pre-Drinking with Brewcult

Where:  The Scratch, 1 Park Road

When:  4pm

Cost:  Free

Unfortunately, I can’t make it to the Instagrammy Awards at Tippler’s Tap later in the evening (despite the fact that I’m a finalist!) as I’ve committed to the event at Newstead Brewing Co. However, I have a couple of hours to kill before that starts so why not spend it in the company of Steve ‘Hendo’ Henderson from Brewcult?!

What:  Get Flawed

Where:  Newstead Brewing Co., 85 Doggett Street

When:  6pm

Cost:  $50

I couldn’t resist this one. Spending the evening listening and learning about the science behind beer with the biggest beer boffin (Beerffin?) there is – Mark Howes from Newstead Brewing. It’s also The Westbender’s 35th birthday that day. He’ll be in attendance. I might even shout him a beer.

Wednesday 26th March

BFD (Brewsvegas Free Day)

Thursday 27th March

What:  IPA Jockey

Where:  Newstead Brewing Co., 85 Doggett Street

When:  All day

Cost:  Free

I’m heading to Newstead for a relaxing lunch and to listen to some tunes. IPA Jockey will combine 12 (tbc) different IPA’s on tap with the sounds of vinyl from the speakers. Patrons are encouraged to bring along their own vinyl LPs. Nice idea.

What:  Murray’s Three-Way

Where:  Archive Beer Boutique, 100 Boundary Street

When:  All day

Cost:  Free

I might head into Archive as a filler before The Burrow event for a hand-pumped Punch & Judy’s Ale with Pimms soaked fruit.

What:  Big, Bold, Bizarre…Bacchus!

Where:  The Burrow, 37 Mollison Street

When:  4pm – 6pm

Cost:  $20 on the door

This event is one that shouldn’t be missed if you like big beers (yes, please!). $20 will get you a flight of four crazy-arse BIG beers from Bacchus with some nibbles. I must remember to eat some of The Burrow’s renowned pizza while I’m there too.

What:  First Annual Brisbane Untappd

Where:  Tippler’s Tap, 22 Masters Street

When:  6pm

Cost:  Free

Not to be missed. There will be 10 beers tapped for this event and every single one has been brewed by a Queensland brewery. Make sure you check your beer into Untappd during the evening to decide the winner. There will be only one winner of course. It will be the Jaffa Wit – a chocolate orange witbier brewed by yours truly and Jack from The Westbender (Bacchus helped us a little bit).

Friday 28th March

What:  MP vs MP

Where:  Brewski, 22 Caxton Street

When:  12 noon

Cost:  Free

Head brewer, Andrew Gow, from Mornington Peninsula Brewery will be on hand to tap their Imperial IPA, Saison, White IPA and Mosaic IPA. Sounds like a nice lunch to me.

What:  All in with All Inn

Where:  Cartel, 2 Caxton Street

When:  All day (all week in fact)

Cost:  Free

A quick visit to Cartel to try out All Inn’s Caxton Street Cock Punch ale. I just hope I’m not on the receiving end of a real one.

What:  Burrow Brews Launch

Where:  The Burrow, 37 Mollison Street

When:  3pm – 6pm

Cost:  $20 on the door

The promise of never-before-seen beers will lure me to The Burrow after lunch. The guys celebrate their second birthday with the release of their very own range of four beers.

What:  Hipwood Brewery Launch

Where:  The International Hotel, 525 Boundary Street, Spring Hill

When:  6pm

Cost:  Free

Finally, somebody has given The International a kick up the arse er, I mean a new lease of life. This is great news and something that needed to be done. The micro-brewery is the pubs jewel in the crown and it only needed a polish (a new brewer) to make it shine. Looking forward to this one.

Saturday 29th March

What:  4 Hearts at Stones Corner

Where:  Stones Corner Hotel, 346 Logan Road

When:  1pm

Cost:  $20

An easy Saturday afternoon this one. $20 for a paddle of four 4 Hearts beers plus food plus Wade. Bargain.

What:  Inhoption 2014

Where:  The Scratch, 1 Park Road

When:  Afternoon onwards

Cost:  Free

This event will start once the preceding event (Alementary Q&A Panel) finishes…and there isn’t an end time to that! I’m a hop head. I feel the need to poke my head in at The Scratch to see what the hell they’re doing with so many hops inside the venue. Hoptastic.

What:  Ekim Viking Party

Where:  Bosc, 69 Vulture Street

When:  6pm

Cost:  Free

I’m heading to Bosc because the Ekim beers that I’ve tried to date have been nothing short of exceptional. They are also like gold dust here in Brisbane so it makes sense to make the most of their presence while they’re in town. I’m not yet 100% certain as to whether I’ll be donning my favourite Viking garb for the occasion. We’ll see.

What:  Art Collides With A Brew

Where:  Embassy Bar, 214 Elizabeth Street

When:  7.30pm

Cost:  $25

Before I retire home for the night after a week of very good beer and what promises to be a very good week, I’m heading to ‘The Embo’ for a taste of three brand-spanking new beers by Fortitude Brewing. There’ll be a pig on a spit and local artists in action. I’ve then just got to rely on Queensland Rail playing ball and hope that they are willing to take me home.

I have listed 19 events above. This isn’t set in stone and I reserve the right to come and go as I please. There’s a strong possibility that I’ll exceed 19 events. In the likely event that my bank manager catches up with me by close of business Thursday, there’s also a strong possibility that I won’t make all 19…

If you’re tempted to get out and about during Brewsvegas – don’t hesitate. Get into it and enjoy it!

I’ll probably see you around.

7 thoughts on “The 250 Beers Brewsvegas Timetable

  1. Monica J says:

    You are going to be busy! I’ll come and say hello at Kerbside on Sunday 🙂

  2. I’m afraid to post my potential schedule as it may make me look like an alcoholic.

    Best of luck with transit this weekend!

  3. lukeshield says:

    I can guarantee that there is a cock punch awaiting you on Friday.

  4. […] managed to get to 19 events although they were slightly different to the 19 that I’d planned. Some I’d decided against last-minute whilst others I abandoned due to overcrowding and so […]

  5. […] written in my Brewsvegas timetable that I was having a BFD (Brewsvegas-Free Day) on March 24th. Well, that was only partly true […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

