Google+

You’ve got to be in it to win it

2

February 6, 2014 by 250 Beers

To tell the truth I tend to avoid entering competitions. It’s not really something that I do unless the prize is something that I’d really like to win. My attention was caught recently when I came across a competition being run by Brisbane-based gentlemen’s magazine, ManTalk

image

As you may notice, the details of the actual prize were sketchy but it was something to do with Four Hearts Brewing which surely meant that beer was involved. Knowing that Wade Curtis at Four Hearts was on the verge of unleashing his pale ale in bottled form I took a gamble and entered.

The criteria for entering the competition was a bit of an effort. I had to like ManTalk’s Facebook page, like the Four Hearts Brewing page (which I did many moons ago), share the details on my Facebook page, like stuff on Instagram, hashtag things on Instagram, stand on my head whilst singing the Lord’s prayer backwards sucking lemonade through a dirty hose pipe etc etc but I thought to myself ‘Fuck it. They want me to jump through a few hoops? Why not?’ and so I set about fine-tuning my social media skills but not before I paused for a moment to ponder the potential prize. I found myself in a day-dream ala Homer Simpson…hmmm, beer.

I entered with the phrase ‘You’ve got to be in it to win it’ ringing in my head. Deep, deep down in the deepest depths of my beer gut I was hoping that the endurance of the qualifying would put people off entering the competition and therefore eliminate my potential competitors. I then chose to forget all about the competition.

A week or so after my sharing and hashtagging were sternly put to the test, I received THE email.

It was THE email.

You know? THE email?

The one that says ‘WINNER‘.

Holy shit! Aside from winning a cup cake in a raffle when I was 12 years old I had never won anything before! The email was from ManTalk’s Editor-in-Chief, Mark Basa, with a tone of congratulations which detailed the prize…I’d only gone and won a carton of Four Hearts Brewing pale ale. The VERY first carton EVER! Woohoo!

The email had arrived on my phone as I was leaving The Mill (Brisbane’s newest craft beer bar which is well worth a visit). I floated with elation towards Fortitude Valley train station with a silly grin on my face. The grin had nothing to do with the three beers that I’d sunk beforehand at The Mill and Kerbside before that. It was one of joy…I’d actually won something.

It was then that my bubble burst and I hit the ground again. I took a phone call from Mrs 250 Beers and found out that one of my offspring – the four year-old mini 250 Beer – had badly broken his arm. The timing was impeccable. I’d busted a gut to win some beer and he’d busted an arm!

I’ll publish a blog post once the prize is in my possession but in the meantime…thanks in advance to ManTalk and Four Hearts.

image

2 thoughts on “You’ve got to be in it to win it

  1. […] A few cheeky après work beers one Wednesday evening in January enabled me to try the following three beers: Fighting Falcon American IPA (7.1%) and Choc Cherry Stout (9.9%) – both by Bacchus and both at Kerbside – and also All Inn’s newest beer, Elle (5.2%). My desire to try the Australian pale ale, Elle, gave me the perfect excuse to visit The Mill on Constance Street. It’s at the opposite end of Constance to Kerbside. That Wednesday was my own little Constance instance. Both Elle and The Mill impressed me. It was as I was leaving The Mill that I found out I’d won a carton of 4 Hearts pale ale! […]

  2. […] but it was more of an exchange because he swapped the Children of Darkness for one of my brand spanking new bottles of 4 Hearts Pale Ale. Marginally, I came out on top. No offence […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

