Google+

The T-shirt Slag

8

January 21, 2014 by 250 Beers

I’ve realised that my beery t-shirt collection is now at a point where a recent, four-word comment aimed in my direction was probably justified.

“You’re a t-shirt slag!” was the jibe. I actually hadn’t heard the word ‘slag’ used in context for quite some time and was mildly impressed. It was very over-used during my teenage years possibly made even more popular by the glut of films around at the time that glamourised the criminal underworld in the shadier parts of London. Picture somebody like actor, Ray Winston, in full character, gruff voice “Oi! Shhhlaaaaagg!”

My wardrobe is currently home to seven beer-related t-shirts which isn’t really that many.

imageThe newest piece of cloth is probably the coolest and technically not a t-shirt. It’s from Fortitude Brewing and has the tap decal artwork of their Summer beer emblazoned on the left breast. It’s very funky and is in the style of a retro Australian cricket shirt – bright yellow (or gold) with a green collar and green trim on the sleeves. It really is a cracker. Slight problem: I’m a proud Englishman (cue immediate decrease in readership). I will still wear it but only because it’s bloody nice and because of its association with beer…and only on non-match days.

The six others are as follows:

image1) A yellow No Faux Mo Fo’s Noisy Minor t-shirt. This t-shirt was a compulsory adornment for the lucky people at the Noisy Minor launch party – that crazy, hedonistic pub crawl around Brisbane…on a bus. I still often wake during the night shuddering.

2) My black Mountain Goat t-shirt was kindly donated by Anna from Lock, Stock & Barrel. Anna is a friend of mine (although wasn’t at the time) and somebody that I have plenty of time for. I actually don this shirt a lot imagefor no other reason than it’s a good fit and I really like the logo on the front. Of course, Goat beer is pretty good too.

3) An All Inn Brewing tee from the brewery’s launch at The Scratch back in July of last year. This one used to fit me perfectly. imageUnfortunately, due to an increase in size, it takes this item some effort to squeeze me ‘all in’.

4) A charcoal coloured Fortitude Brewing t-shirt from the very first pouring of Fortitude’s Original Golden Ale at the Pig & Whistle in May 2013. This one is a strange fit but I like it. Perhaps it’s just a fit that I’m not used to wearing. Itimage has a wide neck and the overall length is very long – long enough to cover the entirety of my arse cheeks. Mrs 250 Beers keeps eyeing it off as potential nightwear (the shirt not my arse).

5) A 2013 Queensland Beer Week tee which I wore a few times mainly during last year’s events. It seems wrong to wear ‘out of date’ clothes now though. Is that wrong or is it just me? In saying that, I see a bloke on the train to work most imagemornings who sports t-shirts from the 1983 Australian Duran Duran tour. QLD Beer Week doesn’t have the same popularity as Simon Le Bon and chums but in an Ordinary World maybe one day it will…if it gets structured properly and if a certain somebody isn’t so Hungry Like A Wolf to cash in on it.

6) Last and by no means least – my white 250beers.com t-shirt. This was a generous sample from a follower of this blog that happens to work in a shop that prints t-shirts. I wore it for the first timeimage during the brewing of the Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series beers.

These tees may eventually become available to buy via this blog but only if there is enough interest. Just one more email from somebody asking if I sell them should do the trick!

I currently have my eyes on a Newstead Brewing t-shirt and I’m in two minds which one to purchase as they have a couple of different logo’d versions. Genius marketing at its best because a geek like me will probably buy both. Doh. One of their logos is plain but excellent. The other is slightly more intricate but just as good. Every piece of art that was put together for NBCo is brilliant. It turns out that the designers are the same bunch of good Brissie folk that I work with annually on a project for a mutual client of ours. Small world.

If you’re reading this blog post and own a brewery/work for a brewery, have a spare t-shirt laying idle and wouldn’t mind a handsome young chap sporting it then I’m not the right guy. If you wouldn’t mind seeing a slightly overweight guy in his mid-to late thirties sporting your threads then please feel free to throw one my way.

8 thoughts on “The T-shirt Slag

  1. lukemoo says:

    what size are you darren ??

  2. I’d go for both.

    My favourite is my Pony Bar t-shirt from New York. Had to get it after getting the illustrious “Founders Hangouts” badge!

  3. […] If you’re planning on heading to any of the events next month, you could always turn up sporting a Craft Beer Rising t-shirt…available by clicking here. I’m going to get one. After all, I am a t-shirt slag! […]

  4. you got a free T-shirt? Damn you, I had to pay for mine. Sooooo jealous.

  5. […] affection for the day by sporting the green and gold in the form of my Fortitude Brewing Summer Ale shirt. Despite the presence of a large crowd, I was shocked at the lack of green and gold on show. Of […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

