Google+

All Inn’s new beers / NOvemBEER’s fourth joker played

3

November 20, 2013 by 250 Beers

250 Beers joker card

250 Beers joker card

Almost exactly mid-way through NOvemBEER and I played the fourth of my self-permitted five joker cards. It was last Saturday, 16th NOvemBEER, to be precise.

The occasion? It was our annual Christmas street party!

250 Beers HQ is located in a quiet cul-de-sac and we’re surrounded by great neighbours. Our closest neighbours are Wayne and Vicky. They live directly next door and they host the event every year. Every household is responsible for bringing a dish of food (a salad or a side dish or whatever), their own meat and their own drinks. Wayne cooks everybody’s meat, the covers come off the other food and we all tuck into a mighty feast. This year was a big one with 24 residents from nine houses in attendance.

I had to play a joker because Wayne always insists on an after-dinner darts tournament that often continues towards midnight. There’s even a trophy. It’s serious shit.

If you’re reading this and you’re young, kid-free but thinking about settling down in the ‘burbs one day then the above is what you have awaiting for you. Good times.

Burleigh & All InnMy good time was fuelled by a deliberate choice of Queensland beer; a six-pack of Burleigh Brewing‘s 28 Pale Ale and two squealers each filled to the brim with newly released beers from All Inn Brewing. I figured that I was eating local (you can’t get more local than next door) therefore I’d drink local too.

I was looking forward to copping some flack over my beer choices from my neighbours. Most are a fair bit older than me and they’re all loyal to some big brands. I was keen to point out that I was the only non-Aussie there yet I was the only person drinking beer from Australian owned/Queensland-based breweries. That little bit of Beer Wanker in me makes an appearance from time to time.

The Burleigh 28 needs no introduction. It’s a very approachable and sessionable pale; a perfect quencher for those balmy, Queensland evenings. It sat side by side my overloaded plate of food with ease and provided an emphatic solution to my thirst world problems.

As for the other two, new All Inn beers let me introduce you to Katie and Kala

Katie ESB

Katie ESB

Katie is a 5.4% ESB (Extra Special Bitter/Extra Strong Bitter) and, as the style is very British, the beer takes its name from Kate Middleton who is as British as they come. I guess you could say that this ESB also stands for Elizabeth’s Son’s Biatch?

Generally, I have to be in the right frame of mind to enjoy a British-style bitter. A malty, biscuity flavour isn’t always high on my agenda. However, young Katie brings a great bitterness to the party (quite literally) which offsets the malt nicely. Magnum hops keep her bitter whilst her earthiness can be attributed to the inclusion of Fuggles.

All Inn Brewing Kala Black IPA

Kala Black IPA

Kala. Wow, Kala. Where do I start? She is a dark and mysterious black IPA. With an abv of 6.4% she’s the type of girl that’s likely to creep up on you slowly before letting you know she’s yours all night. Boasting Centennial and Warrior hop varieties she presents soft citrus aromas and a very clean, dry bitterness that I go looking for in an IPA. I sensed faint liquorice characteristics too. As dark as the night with a soft, lingering, fluffy tan head this IPA is a cracker.

Rather cleverly, Kala takes her name from the Sanskrit word for black. Sanskrit is one of 22 scheduled languages of India…India Pale Ale…IPA…you get the picture. Kala is also a Hindu unit of time. One Kala equates to 144 seconds which, coincidentally, is exactly how long it took for my first glass of Kala to disappear.

Before last Saturday I hadn’t consumed a single beer for over a week (I know – crazy right?!) so it was no surprise that I made good use of joker number four. I now have to sit on the fifth and final joker and make it last two weeks.

How did the darts tournament end up? Well, I was paired with Alexander from three doors down. He’s a big, strapping teenager. “Alexander The Great” I thought to myself. I was wrong. He was bad but I was worse. I blame those two girls for distracting me.

3 thoughts on “All Inn’s new beers / NOvemBEER’s fourth joker played

  1. Boyd says:

    Great Blog & All Inn Brewing Co. is one that I haven’t investigated as yet & understand your remarks about the British style ales as they are great in winter but can be a little too complex during summer when all you want to do is murder a good beer.

  2. West End Woman says:

    Great post! Looking forward to reading about your fifth and final joker antics! 🙂

  3. […] were my beers of choice during joker number four. You can read more about them by clicking here if you […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

