Google+

Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series / NOvemBEER’s second joker played

10

November 7, 2013 by 250 Beers

Well, the cat has well and truly been let out of the bag. Meow.

I’d hinted towards something being afoot back in September when a number of Brisbane-based bloggers gathered at Tippler’s Tap for a secret meeting. One other notable attendee was Ross Kenrick (and Josh Kenrick too come to think of it) from Bacchus Brewing Co.

The meeting was no accident. We were scripting ideas for a collaborative series of beers involving us and, of course, Bacchus. During the time between that milestone meeting and the brew day we’d all submitted our ideas to Ross for him to work on the recipes. My concept involved a big IPA with theoretical IBUs of 250 (of course!).

The set of six beers would ultimately become the Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series.

Brew day was Tuesday 5th November when we all converged at the Capalaba brewery for a 9am start mash-in. I’d left home at 6.15am but got seriously shafted by another woeful display by Translink and Queensland Rail. To cut a long story short I just made it in time and it was literally by the skin of my teeth.

250 Beers mash

Me in action (photo courtesy of chasingale.com)

I barely had time to put my bag down before Bill, brewer extraordinaire, told me that I was up first to pour the measured grain into my allotted mash tun (the largest of the six available). Up I stepped making the moves of a total novice brewer about to brew his first ever beer…and so began an amazing day.

The Bacchus brewery has a fantastic set-up which is capable of brewing six different beers simultaneously. This quirk is brilliant but, on days like our brew day, must be quite a test for the brewers. I’m sure that during the days where all six kettles are boiling the same recipe the guys can relax a little more compared to when six completely different beers with completely different recipes using completely different ingredients are being created.

Bacchus Brewing Co.

While our individual mashes were doing their thing Bill gave us a guided tour of the brewery which included a glimpse of the cold room which housed a large quantity of fermenting beer. Hmmm, beer.

We also saw Bacchus’ mighty grain store which, according to Bill, would rival any brewery in the world in terms of varieties available. It was quite impressive to say the least.

image

Shortly after the tour it was announced that the coffee man had arrived. As with most small industrial areas, the local estate is serviced by a chap selling fresh coffee. As I hadn’t consumed a thing since waking at 5am that morning I nearly bit the bloke’s arm off when asked if I wanted one!

I sat and sipped that coffee in disbelief that (a) I’d already been blessed with naming a commercial beer this year and (b) not only would I be naming another one but I was actually in the midst of brewing it!

250 Beers mash

Me mashing in (photo courtesy of chasingale.com)

The brew day was very hands-on and we were all encouraged to get involved where possible. Cleaning out our mash tuns was compulsory so I am extremely thankful that I hadn’t donned similar heels to that which Cassie from whatbeertodrink.com was sporting. Not because they wouldn’t have suited me of course, but more that it would have hindered my cleaning attempt as my efforts required the whole of my upper body to be inside the tun. I would have lost my balance for sure.

I won’t blurt out any more details for the time being as there’ll be a media release soon which will include the finer details such as exactly what types of beer were brewed, date and location of a tap take-over etc. I’m sure all bloggers involved will publish it when its available. Suffice to say that the event will be one not to be missed.

What I can reveal is the name of my IPA; it’s going to be called Hair Of The Blog and should come in around the 9.0% mark.

Hair Of The Blog

The day was fantastic and I want to say a huge thank you to Ross, Bill, Kerry and the rest of the team at Bacchus for everything that they’ve done for us so far. Cheers guys!

– – – ◊ – – –

Second Joker of NOvemBEER played…

250 Beers joker card

250 Beers joker card

Bloody hell.

It was only day five of NOvemBEER and I played my second of five permitted jokers for the month.

Let’s face it, I had to and I knew it in advance. A planned visit to a brewery for a day and then celebratory beers at Archive afterwards meant that playing a joker was the right thing to do.

It’s going to be a looong month.

10 thoughts on “Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series / NOvemBEER’s second joker played

  1. Ross says:

    Was great to have you guys & gals here for the day, can’t wait to try some of the wonderful creations you came up with….

  2. […] the yeast does it’s thing, you can also read about the day from Darren’s (of 250Beers.com) and Nick’s (of chasingale.com) perspectives. You can also follow us on Twitter (@drunkspec) […]

  3. […] to your last answer, I can now tick a Brewday off of my bucket list thanks to the forthcoming Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series. I agree that creating beer is extremely […]

  4. […] Part of me wanted to try it because I have a lot of time for both Sim and Dan but another part of me wanted to see how hoppy and bitter it was what with the impending unleashing of Hair of the Blog on the horizon. Hair of the Blog is my own collaboratively brewed imperial IPA as part of the Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series. […]

  5. […] beers at Archive that were well deserved after a day brewing at Bacchus (do you know all about the Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series yet?). I was hungry and thirsty and, thankfully, both of these beers really hit the […]

  6. […] with a beer collaboratively brewed by Bacchus Brewing and six Brisbane-based beer bloggers; the Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series if you […]

  7. […] I received a call from Ross Kenrick at Bacchus Brewing last week. Aside from chewing the fat in an ex-pat to ex-pat chinwag, Ross rang with an update on the final alcohol level of Hair Of The Blog Imperial IPA – my collaborative brew as part of the Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series. […]

  8. […] amazing brew day at Bacchus Brewing last month that enabled five other beer bloggers and I to each brew a beer for […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

