Google+

Notsoberfest 2013

1

October 23, 2013 by 250 Beers

My own personal birthday Oktoberfest that I dubbed Notsoberfest came and went last weekend.

We took our new caravan up to Neurum Creek Bush Retreat which is situated just beyond the music festival haven of Woodford. There were 11 of us on the trip in total (six adults and five children). We hit the road late on Friday morning and after a casual drive of around 45 minutes (Neurum Creek isn’t too far from 250 Beers HQ) we set up camp. It was my first time and, as expected, I experienced a few erection problems (with the annexe). Once I’d got it up, I sat down to enjoy a beer and began to soak up the scenery; particularly the rolling hills of the D’Aguilar Range.

Just before departure at 250 Beers HQ

Just before departure at 250 Beers HQ

It was at that point that loud rumbles of thunder could be heard in the distance. Within minutes, the heavens opened and we witnessed the first serious bout of precipitation that many parts of south-east Queensland had seen in months. Seriously, it hadn’t rained for a very, very long time yet Mother Nature decided to have a laugh at our expensive within minutes of me sucking upon my first of 24 Burleigh Brewing ’28’ Pale Ales.

24 x 28

To be honest, nobody really gave a shit. We needed rain. Mrs 250 Beers and I didn’t mind the storm as it gave the caravan and our super-duper, all singing, all dancing annexe the perfect opportunity to prove themselves when faced with some heavy rain. Everything stood up to the test of keeping the 250 Beers family dry. Happy campers.

Notsoberfest

It was my birthday the day after the wettest Friday in recent memory which meant that it was time to let the Notsoberfest celebrations begin properly!! I’d taken an accumulation of 11 German or German-style beers with me on the trip specifically for 19th October. The sun was shining and the temperature was already up past 26 degrees by mid-morning. The scene was set…until the youngest of the 250 Beers clan fell ill.

Yep, the wee fella came down with a virus and a horrid rash. He became so clingy to me that it would be fair to compare his stickiness to that of the proverbial shit to a blanket. I didn’t really mind as cuddles from my 18 month old child are pretty awesome. It was the constant moaning that was doing my head in. It was affecting my concentration as I tried to read the labels on the bottles. It was affecting my ability to check the beers in on Untappd for goodness sake!

Discarded empties

Perhaps I over-dramatised that a little. Of course my main concern was the welfare of the tot but I was trying to avoid disruption of my enjoyment of the 11-strong stash. Once he’d fallen asleep that evening, and after I’d eventually peeled him off of me and put him to bed, all of the grown-ups sat around a campfire and enjoyed some authentic German Bratwurst which accompanied my German inspired mini-beerathon perfectly.

By the way, I was the only one tearing into German beers. Notsoberfest was all about me. Happy Birthday to me.

I was in unfamiliar territory with six of my Notsoberfest beers as I’d never tried them before. These were Paulaner Original Munich Lager (4.9%), Erdinger Dunkel (5.3%), Erdinger Oktoberfest (5.7%), Erdinger Hefeweizen (5.3%), 4 Pines Keller Door: Oktoberfest (5.5%) and Brauerei Schlenkerla Aecht Schlenkerla Rauchbier – Märzen (5.1%).

Stand outs were the Erdinger Hefe which is a fine wheat beer, the 4 Pines for its freshness and the Rauchbier for being as smokey as my clothes around the campfire.

The other five brews had already made their way onto my unique beer tally at previous, less momentous occasions in history. For the record they were Lowenbrau Original (5.2%), Hofbrau Oktoberfestbier (6.3%), Paulaner Hefeweizen (5.5%), Brooklyn Oktoberfest (5.5%) and Weihenstephaner Festbier (5.8%).

Pic courtesy of ncbr.com.au

Pic courtesy of ncbr.com.au

In between big snuggles with my little boy, I’d managed to deplete the Notsoberfest beer total of 11 down to zero during my birthday. It was a great day and I should thank those around me for putting up with my strange quest and beer wankery.

Sunday’s fuzziness was soon erased with the assistance of scrambled eggs on toast and leftover Bratwurst….and a Burleigh 28. As Sunday dwindled seamlessly into the evening at a relaxing pace so did the rest of the Burleigh Pales. I blame the fantastic ambience of Neurum Creek. It’s far too easy to sit back and relax there – even with two small children.

Burleigh 28

Since polishing off a carton of Burleigh 28 I’ve decided that it’s going to be my ‘camping beer’. This will sit nicely with my ‘pool beer’ (Stone & Wood Pacific Ale) and my ‘when stuck in a shit bottle shop go-to beer’ (Little Creatures Pale Ale).

It was an awesome weekend and something that I’ll try to replicate next year. As for my Untappd check-ins, I managed to successfully check in all 35 beers on one, solitary bar of mobile phone signal.

One thought on “Notsoberfest 2013

  1. […] start with my own Oktoberfest-inspired Notsoberfest which was held in conjunction with my birthday celebrations – a weekend away in the new […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

