Google+

Elf Biere fur Notsoberfest

Leave a comment

October 17, 2013 by 250 Beers

The Oktoberfest festivities held over two weekends in Brisbane are regarded by many as being extremely good and worthy of a visit. Others are not so keen. Ammo from Drunken Speculation was one such visitor whose high expectations were not met.

I’ve lived near Brisbane through the previous five Octobers and I’ve never made it along. I might attempt to rectify that next year. Or maybe not.

This year’s local Oktoberfest celebrations clashed with a family event last weekend (which also meant that a planned jaunt to a German shindig at The Cardigan Bar was quashed). This coming weekend is a no-no because of a scheduled road trip.

The short break over a four-day weekend will see the 250 Beers family set off with our brand spanking new caravan in tow – on its maiden voyage. It just so happens that Saturday is my thirty-something birthday. Birthday wishes etc can be emailed to darren@250beers.com

Throughout my beer drinking years my birthday has always clashed with Oktoberfest shenanigans. So, it seems fitting to roll Saturday into some kind of Notsoberfest. I’m not setting out to get wasted and I’d never promote binge drinking; Notsoberfest was the best name I could come up with. It was better than Socktoberbest where I was going to enjoy a few beers wearing nothing but a pair of socks. I had to rethink that one. It didn’t seem fair on the other campers.

As well as taking a carton of quaffing beer (Burleigh’s 28 Pale Ale) with me on the trip, I’ve been accumulating a stash of German beers, German-style beers and beers brewed with Oktoberfest in mind.

My Notsoberfest collection for Saturday consists of eleven beers or elf biere if you’re German (not elf-like). Some of this hoard are new to me whilst others I’ve tried before…

Elf Biere

Elf Biere

You see that 500ml Erdinger Weissbrau glass in my photo? There’s a nice little tale surrounding how it came to be in my possession. I wandered into my local First Choice Liquor store last weekend for a quick look around. I ended up buying the Paulaner Lager and the bottle of Erdinger Weissbrau – both shown above and both purchased specifically for Notsoberfest. Bearing in mind that I was spending the grand old sum of just $10.00, it came as a complete shock when the lady behind the counter bent down to retrieve something and stood back up handing me the solid 500ml glass. She said “Here you go. You may as well have my last one seeing as though you’re buying the appropriate beer.”

I couldn’t believe my luck. I thanked her profusely and left with a big smile on my face. Usually, glasses like that get thrown in as part of a gift pack. Not a bad return for a $10.00 outlay. Customer service is alive!

Where was I? Ah, yes, Notsoberfest. My beer geekness will come to the fore whilst I’m away as I’m not confident that there’ll be mobile phone reception. As I’m sure most Untappd members, Instagrammers, Facebookers and Tweeters will agree this is a potential nightmare. What if I can’t check my beers in on Untappd?! Aargh! Yes, I could check them all in upon my return to 250 Beers HQ but that will be days after consumption and goes against how I roll. Maybe I should make an exception just this once? Maybe I’ll be standing on the roof of the caravan with my mobile phone held aloft praying to the God of the mobile phone signal for just…one…bar.

Right then, I’m off to pack a few things for the weekend.

Now, where did I put my socks…?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

