Google+

Review: Southern Tier Brewing – Creme Brûlée

4

October 11, 2013 by 250 Beers

I drink a variety of different beers (58 last month) but rarely do two different drops grab my undivided attention within days of each other.

Shortly after thoroughly enjoying Nail Brewing’s Golden Nail, it was a beer from the US that put a childish grin on my face…

I’d read a lot about Southern Tier Brewing‘s Crème Brûlée Stout (9.5%) before buying it. In fact, I’d go so far as saying that there is a huge amount of hype that surrounds it.

A couple of weeks ago, and with no set agenda or shopping list, I visited the recently relocated The Wine Emporium at the new Gasworks development in Newstead simply to check out the range of beer. I heard some gossip while I was in that neck of the woods. Rumour has it that the word ‘suburb’ is being replaced with ‘beerburb’ where Newstead is concerned simply because of the first-class beer available in the area. Cool huh?

I’d soaked up a hefty portion of Crème Brûlée reviews and hadn’t ever expected to stumble upon a large stash in Brisbane. So, when I did, it was inevitable that at least one would come home with me. It sat in my beer fridge for a while until the time felt right.

Southern Tier Brewing Creme BruleeThe time came last weekend.

It poured like a liquid version of a silky, velvet negligee. The sweet aroma of vanilla tickled my nasal hairs immediately. I’ve always had a sweet tooth and those aromas ignited immediate interest. Accompanied by a shiver down my spine, the nasal hairs sent a quick message to their cousins on the back of my neck and those fellas duly stood up.

I uttered three sentences after my first mouthful. Each sentence contained just one word; Oh. My. God.

It was sweet and to be honest a little too sweet but I didn’t care. It was majestic. It truly was just like eating a crème brûlée. The sweet, lingering caramel and hop bitterness fought for supremacy on my palate but the caramel won every time.

Being a stout, it was tempting to let it sit and warm up a little but I couldn’t put the glass down. Imagine handing a toddler a lollipop and then taking it away again. Can you picture the kids’ face? Can you hear those wails? That is exactly what I would have been like if I’d let go and put the beer down. I wanted to savour it cold.

Just past the half-way mark, the sweetness actually got a little bit too much so I put it to one side (but never out of sight) and let it warm slightly. This allowed the hops to come through at the end. The previously disguised alcohol also made an appearance towards the bottom of the glass.

The term ‘dessert beer’ gets banded around a lot and it’s over-used sometimes. However, it would be very appropriate to describe Crème Brûlée as a dessert beer. I’d even promote sharing this beer with a loved one. Dim the lights, put a movie on and relax with this decadent, luscious drop from America.

4 thoughts on “Review: Southern Tier Brewing – Creme Brûlée

  1. ozbeerbaron says:

    I have this sitting in my fridge as well, also waiting until the time feels right. aka when the missus says we can drink it…she wants in on this one as well!

  2. Pdubyah says:

    I have one in the fridge waiting my attention. I enjoyed the Plum Noir and wanted a ti e to pass before I dived into this. I can see now that I must take that plunge.

  3. […] Four beers from the USA also featured. These were Hoppy Feet Clown Shoes Black IPA (7.0%) from Mercury Brewing, Rogue’s Dry Hopped St. Rogue Red Ale (5.3%) and two fantastic beers from Southern Tier Brewing; Unearthly Imperial IPA (9.5%) and Crème Brûlée (9.5%). My review of the Crème Brûlée can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

