Google+

Sniffing and sipping at the Brewhouse

14

October 1, 2013 by 250 Beers

I figured that it was about time I struck a line through something on my beer bucket list; something that has been on there for a while: a visit to Brewhouse Brisbane.

There’s no real reason why I haven’t been before other than it’s geographically out of the way for me.

I decided to rectify my permanent absence by making an appearance at the Brewhouse’s first Sniff and Sip event last Thursday. The near sell-out all-ticket affair gave me the perfect opportunity to check the place out.

Beer HereSniff and Sip is a joint venture between the Brewhouse and Cassie Potts (WhatBeerToDrink) and means what it says. It’s a beer tasting function designed to encourage participants to further explore the senses of smell and taste whilst drinking beer. Last Thursday was all about exploring beers from Beer Here and Edge Brewing Projects.

For those unaware, Beer Here is basically a Danish gypsy brewer called Christian Skovdal Andersen. His beers have gained quite a cult following.

Having set foot in Australia on numerous occasions, Christian jumpedEdge Brewing into bed (probably not literally) with his Australian importer and distributor Adam Betts of Melbourne-based Northdown Craft Beer Movement and so, collaboratively, Edge Brewing was born.

Adam’s Northdown colleague, Rocky Reed, was our co-host for the evening. Ms Potts was the other MC.

With a pint of Brisbane Brewing Co.’s new American pale ale Texas Walker in my hand, I took a pew at the bar.

Being at the bar ensured that I was closer to the beer…

First up was the only Edge beer on the agenda: Cool Hops – a 4.6% Australian Lager. Whilst researching this post I was astounded to find that Cool Hops is rated extremely highly on RateBeer.com. Perhaps ‘astounded’ is too harsh however, the glass of Cool Hops that I was served (draught not bottled by the way) was quite poor. It gave off unexpected bready/banana aromas and tasted very bland and dare I say it ‘mainstream’. There’s a chance I had the first or last glass of the keg as mine was significantly cloudier than those around me. Research also suggests that Cool Hops is brewed at contract brewery Southern Bay yet a voice near me that evening remarked the kegs came out of Mildura Brewery. Perhaps the bottled variety comes out of Southern Bay? I’ll be on the look-out for a bottle to see if it will change my current low opinion.

Beer Here Red HopsThe next beer was Beer Here’s double red ale Red Hops (7.5%). It gave off very crisp, clean fruity notes that were very inviting as was the deep amber hue. The taste was a little complex but in the end overwhelmed by a strong sweetness. The official tasting notes mentioned ‘burned sugars’. I can confirm that this actually means ‘sweet’. Not a bad drop though.

Thirdly, and the only other kegged offering, was Beer Here’s Executioner IPA (7.0%). Being an IPA fan I was looking forward to this. I wasn’t let Beer Here Executioner IPAdown. In fact, I couldn’t put this one down. I gained a different flavour in every mouthful. Hops. Honey. Ginger. Nice.

I should mention at this point that each beer was being served with an accompanying canapé from the Brewhouse kitchen. You think canapé, you think finger food or ‘nibbles’. Forget that. The portion sizes were much larger than that and tasted absolutely fantastic.

Beer Here HarwoodThe next Beer Here beer to appear (ooh, that rhymes!) was Harwood (8.0%) – a nod to the traditional English porter style. I enjoyed it immensely. It had everything that you’d expect from a porter; chocolate, toffee and backed with a hoppy bitterness. I want to drink this again for sure.

Fifth and finally was Whining Blonde (10.0%) – a Belgian style ale barrel-aged in Pinot Noir casks for almost a year. I was one of a small handful of lucky people to score a second glass of this. Thank God. I loved it. This style isn’t to everybody’s liking but I’d had a decent feed, the evening was drawing to a close and the boozy feel to this beer was appropriate. The BelgianBeer Here Whining Blonde yeast is quite apparent but so is the alcohol. It doesn’t try to hide amongst the fruit. Like I said, I loved it. My advice is to hunt this one down.

I was fortunate to be surrounded by great people for the evening. The guy to my immediate left was none other than Grant Clark, the owner of Brewhouse Brisbane. He talked me through his association with the place, the recent renovations and his realistic aspirations for the future. I had to confess to Grant that I was kicking myself for never having set foot in his pub before (although I had visited his old Brewhouse on Albert Street before its sudden, unforeseen demise in 2008).

Having broken my duck I’ll be back again without a doubt. Not only is the food bloody brilliant but they brew their own beer for goodness sake (under the brewery name Brisbane Brewing Co.)! What better reason to visit?!

Brisbane Brewing Co.’s scotch ale, Up Yer Kilt (5.0%), won a gold at the 2013 Australian International Beer Awards; the world’s second largest beer awards. The head brewer is award-winning Simeon Bonetti who oversees proceedings at the brewery in Albion. Sim won the title of Queensland Champion Amateur Brewer last year.

There's beer here!

There’s beer here!

Brewhouse Brisbane is the largest venue in Brisbane tapping their own hand-crafted brews. There’s something rather good happening in that 124 year-old building and it’s well worth a visit.

If you’re looking for a value-for-money beer and food experience on a Thursday evening, the next Sniff and Sip event is scheduled for November 14th. Keep an eye out for ticket details.

Brewhouse Brisbane, 601 Stanley Street, Woolloongabba, 4102.

14 thoughts on “Sniffing and sipping at the Brewhouse

  1. Yo Gabba Gabba says:

    Awesome pub!

  2. cass says:

    Great post! I think you must have got the dregs of the Cool Hops, (you unfortunate) bastard; my pot of lager was ace!

  3. Great article. Thanks Darren. Let us know when you’re coming in next and we’ll join you for a pint or two. Cheers, Grant and Michelle Clark…

  4. james says:

    Great to hear that the Bris Brewhouse is on the improve.

    We went their in 2010 and the beers were…not good. The BPA of the day tasted like drinking pineapple juice…and the taps were still dominated by VB and XXXX (I think there were only 3 Brisbane beers pouring…the BPA, Star Lager and a Schwarz). It was a little sad, so I’ve never considered returning.

  5. […] Beer Here Executioner IPA (7.0%) […]

  6. […] ago I attended the second of the Brewhouse Brisbane‘s Sniff & Sip sessions. After last month’s Beer Here/Edge Brewing session there was absolutely no way that I was going to miss one of the best value for money beer and food […]

  7. […] and final NOvemBEER joker was played last night. I took my thirst and hop-loving tongue to the Brewhouse to try out a one-off batch of ‘G’imperial […]

  8. […] up to be featured was Edge Brewing/Beer Here, the second was Kooinda, thirdly was Brewcult, then it was Holgate’s turn. I remember […]

  9. […] am the Head Brewer at Brisbane Brewing Co. which supplies beer to The Brewhouse in […]

  10. […] with food at a ridiculously fantastic price saw me become a regular at the first five sessions (Beer Here/Edge Brewing, Kooinda, Brew Cult, Holgate and Brisbane Brewing Co.). The atmosphere is always relaxed, the beers […]

  11. […] time out of her busy schedule. If you’ve been hiding under a rock and not yet visited either Brewhouse Brisbane or Brisbane Brewing Co then what are you waiting […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

