Google+

Escalation and 600up

2

August 30, 2013 by 250 Beers

It’s fairly well-known that the name of this blog, 250 Beers, takes its name from the quantity of unique beers that I consumed over a two-year period between October 2010 and October 2012.

‘250 Beers’ had a ring to it so the name and title stuck. Yes, of course that figure has increased now and, no, I’m not changing the name of this blog. It would be silly to do that every time I hit a milestone.

To some, trying 250 different beers over that amount of time is nothing. Some have a greater thirst perhaps? Some may have wads of cash available to spend on this ‘hobby’.

I recall being ridiculed last year by a couple of guys from New South Wales for being ‘soft’ and not drinking quickly enough. What they perceive as a hobby is probably more of an addiction! There is a difference.

They’re probably laying in a gutter right now. In fact, I kind of hope they are.

I said at the time last year that there is no race being run. Everybody is entitled to drink what they want when they want to.

Now, the reason for this post is the topic of escalation.

250 unique beers had been consumed over a 24 month period at October last year. Today, as I type and publish this, that figure now stands at 600. I hit this milestone last night with the appropriately named Gluttony a 9.4% Double IPA from The Sinner Series brewed by Amager Bryghus in Denmark. It’s packed with five different hop varieties and is, well, a bloody brilliant IPA.

Unique Beer No. 600: Gluttony DIPA from Amager Bryghus

Unique Beer No. 600: Gluttony DIPA from Amager Bryghus

This means that 350 unique/different beers have passed my lips in the past ten months. I keep a very close eye on my intake and keep a very accurate log. It’s obsessively detailed so I know that these figures are spot-on.

The escalation has gone a bit crazy and my ‘drink what I want, when I want’ approach has sped up. This begs the question “Why?”

I think there are three reasons.

Firstly, I find it increasingly difficult to walk into the run-of-the-mill bottle shops such as Dan Murphy’s, First Choice, BWS or Liquorland and spot a beer that I’m yet to have tried. This means that I’m frequenting the decent bottle shops in Brisbane more often. There is only a handful to choose from but these places are stocking a larger variety of beer these days (both Australian and internationally brewed).

This brings me onto reason number two; more and more beer is making its way into a previously almost dormant Queensland craft beer market. This ‘explosion’, as I keep calling it, is down to a) the bottle shops wanting to stock it which they’ll only do if there’s a market for it b) there are more bars tapping craft beer in Brisbane c) there are new breweries opening d) the existing breweries are brewing more beer e) more interstate breweries have an inlet into Queensland through newly appointed sales reps and/or distribution companies.

Reason number three for the huge escalation of unique beer intakes is that my palate is constantly craving something different. It’s a serious catch twenty-two situation. The wider the variety of beers that I drink is making me want to drink a wider variety of beers!

I guess I’m fortunate that there’s a wide variety of beer available then…

2 thoughts on “Escalation and 600up

  1. ozbeerbaron says:

    600?!! Mate, I remember when you hit 500, because it was a few days after I did. Now my total reads 532…

    I take my hat off to you sir. Well done!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

