Google+

Untappd Check-in or not?

11

August 13, 2013 by 250 Beers

imageUntappd, the social networking site where you can share the beer that you’re enjoying as well as the location at which you’re enjoying it. You simply find your beer in the Untappd database and check it in.

There’s other stuff too like the awarding of badges and the ability to rate beers and upload photos. Plus, you can toast the beers that your friends are drinking.

This isn’t an advertisement for Untappd. It’s more a case of me setting the scene for anybody that isn’t aware of Untappd or what it’s all about.

Now, I want to find something out from other Untappders; seeking opinion really.

I signed up to Untappd as recently as early this year and I’d been happily checking-in beers of all different sizes until something occurred to me…

You see last Sunday evening I cracked open a 660ml bottle of HoppinessMoor Beer Hoppiness (6.7%) by Moor Beer Co. As usual, I checked-in the beer on Untappd. I poured the beer into a glass and put the half full/half empty bottle back in the fridge. I finished the glass of beer and took the youngest of the mini 250 Beers to bed. Whilst in his room, and after reading the same Thomas The Tank Engine book 59 times, I nodded off.

It was late when I came out of his room and I didn’t fancy more beer (or should that be ‘Moor’ beer?). I plugged my refrigerated bottle with one of those bung/clip things designed for keeping opened wine bottles air-tight. There the bottle sat for consumption the next day.

Now, here’s my dilemma…

When I sat down to enjoy the other half of my bottle of Hoppiness, should I have checked it in on Untappd?

I think ‘yes’ because it was a different day and a new glass of beer. Some would say ‘no’ because it was from the same bottle as the previous check-in.

I would argue that my two glasses of beer each measured 330ml and are therefore perfectly entitled to be represented by their own individual check-in. I bring the size of the glasses into the predicament because recent check-ins from the Great Australasian Beer Spectapular in Melbourne were as small as 85ml (from tasting paddles).

I guess this also begs the question for future drinking in my household ‘If I’m pouring a large bottle of beer into two glasses, should I be checking-in twice?’

Furthermore, ‘What size of measure counts as an Untappd check-in?’

I’m interested in what others think as there are no set rules surrounding these questions in the ‘help’ pages on the Untappd website. I’ve probably opened the proverbial can of worms but please feel free to comment below or email me if you have an opinion.

Edit: Just so that you’re aware, the second glass of Hoppiness wasn’t checked-in.

11 thoughts on “Untappd Check-in or not?

  1. Jack Behne says:

    I like to only check in beer on Untappd if it’s a new one, or I’m changing the rating. There’s no real point in checking in a beer the second time except for spamming our news feeds Daz 🙂

    I think the discussion should rage over whether it’s kosher to use “one of those bung/clip things” to keep a beer.

  2. I’d say check it in. A friend of mine is currently sitting at 1334 check ins, with 918 unique and some of his have been sips from what others at the table are drinking. Mind you, he does work at Tippler’s and brews, so I’d say he can get away with it.

    I think as long as you judge the beer on it’s merit of a “next day” beer, checking it in is ok. Different day, different taste.

  3. JJBeers says:

    I think its fair enough to check it in twice. I mean if you get a mini keg you check in every glass you have whether it is the same day or the day after right?

    Regarding size i will check in anything over 5 oz.

    When my mates ask me what is untappd i say it’s like Pokemon for Beer enthusiasts

  4. To me, it’s no different from a growler – and I have checked in a few drinks from the same growler. Though I tend to only check in unique beers because I’m lazy and can’t be buggered checking in every time I have a beer.

  5. kiwimark73 says:

    Depends on what you want out of untappd. I normally only do unique, unless I change ratings, have a cool picture, or am at a new venue. I also only check in if I have had at least a sample size of it, so at least 75-100ml, as you would get at a beer festival.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

