Google+

June 2013: a round-up…

Leave a comment

July 12, 2013 by 250 Beers

Last month, I managed to add 38 new and unique beers to my beer tally. 27 of these beers were brewed in this country. That’s 71% of pure Aussie uniqueness for June.

Some people ask me if it’s tiresome keeping tabs on my beer intake especially recognising if a beer is unique or whether I’ve had it before. Sometimes it is but I have an accurate system and, as long as I remember to check-in the beer consumption on Untappd then I have something to fall back on if my system fails me (which it never has). Having a constant reminder of where I’m at on my beer journey on Facebook helps too.

The 11 non-Australian beers new to me and my beer listing are as follows…

VikingViking Pilsner Bjor (4.4%) from Iceland was a fairly bland beer despite the cool label. I only bought it because I hadn’t tried an Icelandic beer before. During that same shopping trip I grabbed myself a Paulaner Hefeweizen (5.5%) from Germany which was pretty decent. Two more German beers also found their way into June’s list. One gave a good account of itself; Kostritzer Schwarzbier – a 4.8% black lager. The other was just shit; Bitburger Drive – appropriately named because you can drink lots of it and drive due to the 0.0% alcohol content. It was awful!

Two British entries now; Brains SA (4.2%) from Wales and Newcastle Le Merle SaisonBrown Ale (4.7%) from England were nothing compared to a fantastic saison from North Coast Brewing in the US. Le Merle Saison (7.9%) was a highlight from June for sure. Any beer in a fancy corked bottle comes with a lot of promises. This beer delivered those promises. Another US beer from last month was Anchor’s Steam Beer (4.9%) which was my commemorative 501st unique beer.

8 Wired iStoutTo make up the 11, the final three are all from New Zealand. Tuatara’s London Porter (5.0%) and two from 8 Wired; Hopwired IPA (7.3%) and iStout (10.0%). These were all fantastic beers particularly the iStout.

Now, 27 Australian niceties to get through. As usual, I’ll try and keep this brief…

I’ll start with the four beers that I had at The Scratch for my Beer of Origin Game 2 (all great beers by the way); Fruit & Nut Stout (7.3%) from Bacchus Brewing, Edward Pale Ale (5.0%) from Grifter Brewing, Glasshouse Rauch (6.1%) from Sunshine Coast Brewery and Brew Am I (5.0%) from Young Henry’s. While I was there that day, I also tried Sunshine Coast Brewery’s Pilsner (4.9%) and Porter (4.8%).

I drank a number of beers at the Queensland Beer Week launch party. These included three Brisbane Brewing Co. beers; Brisbane Pale Ale (4.5%), Dunkel Weizen (4.9%) and the award winning Up Yer Kilt Scotch Ale (4.8%). All gave a good account of themselves. Note to self: visit Brisbane Brewhouse ASAP to try more of their beers!

Three 2013 releases made the list. These were Red Hill Brewery’s 2013Red Hill Hop Harvest Ale 2013 Hop Harvest Ale (6.0%), Cascade’s 2013 First Harvest (5.5%) and Knappstein’s 2013 Reserve Barrel Aged Lager (5.6%). They were all fantastic but my favourite would be the Hop Harvest from Red Hill. I also had a bottle of their Pilsner (5.2%) last month too. Great brewery!

A visit to the Big Pineapple in Woombye last month ensured that I could include three Brewbake beers on my list; Pale Ale (3.5%), Chocolate Porter (3.5%) and Wheat Beer (3.5%).

Brewcult Acid FreaksI finally laid my hands on a bottle of Brew Cult’s Acid Freaks (7.5%), a bottle of Hawthorn’s Witbier (4.9%) and a bottle of Hatlifter Stout (4.9%) from Grand Ridge Brewery. These were all long-term targets. I also enjoyed numerous draught and bottled Mr Obadiah from Little Creatures (6.9%) all of which I loved…I have a few bottles cellared too.

Mornington Peninsular Brewery appeared three times with their Imperial Amber (7.5%), Pale Ale (4.7%) and Porter 6.0%). All of which areMornington Imperial Amber world class brews. Look out for more from these guys in July’s round-up.

O’Briens gluten-free Premium Lager (4.5%) was the third and final beer in my gluten-free mission and Swell Brewing Co. appeared on my list for the first time with a 500ml serving of their non-offensive Amber Ale (4.7%).

Finally, out of the 27 Aussie beers represented, two were actually a bit shit. They were Sail & Anchor’s Draught (4.6%) and the latest release from CUB attempting to reel Queenslanders in; Sun Chaser (4.2%). Sun Chaser LagerYes, it’s brewed down the road at Yatala, but that doesn’t make it taste good.

The Queensland Beer Week shenanigans begin this weekend as well as lots of other events around Brisbane including Beer of Origin 3 at Platform Bar.

No doubt July’s unique beer tally will include a few from next week. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

