Google+

4 Pines Brewing Co.

1

July 9, 2013 by 250 Beers

4 Pines El Dorado IPAThose that are signed up to the 4 Pines mailing list would have seen an email today announcing the release of their first bottled Keller Door release. It’s called El Dorado IPA (6.0%) – an IPA packed with a new hop clone called El Dorado (funny that). I can’t wait to get my hands on some.

More on 4 Pines’ Keller Door releases in a moment.

Now seems like an appropriate time to post a piece I’d written a while ago but never got around to tidying it up and actually posting it…

Around the same time that I wasn’t taking my beer drinking habits particularly seriously (2008), others were doing quite the opposite. Whilst I was immersed in the dire world of macro lagers, there was a brewery being established south of the border – in Manly, NSW called 4 Pines Brewing Co.

The guy responsible for furnishing Brisbane’s bars and restaurants with 4 Pines beer is Brad Fidge. I met with Brad in the CBD some months ago. He’s a very approachable chap with a glowing employment history in the beer industry and with a name just a letter or so away from being ‘bar fridge’ I reckon he’s very well suited to his current role. I have a feeling that he’s one of those guys that everybody knows; the sort of bloke that wouldn’t have a problem finding somebody to talk to at an industry event.

Brad very kindly gave me a bottle of each of the four core beers in the 4 Pines range. I thought that it’s only fair that I should tell you what I thought of them.

4 pines kolschFirst up is the Kolsch (4.6%). I’m not a huge lover of the Kolsch style. I generally have to be in a particular frame of mind to drink one. I must have been in the right frame of mind when I drank this one as it was pretty good! A fairly strong citrus whiff on the nose leads to a pleasant taste of melon and sweet maltiness. It’s very light and crisp, gently carbonated and, when in the right frame of mind, highly sessionable.

I had the Pale Ale (5.1%) next. This is equally as sessionable as the Kolsch. I enjoy a decent pale just as long4 pines pale ale as it drives home that ‘paleness’ that I go looking for (Little Creatures’ pale is a good example). 4 Pines have certainly achieved that along with a load of added bonuses such as a gentle bitterness boosted by hints of pineapple and zesty grapefruit. I know of a number of overseas visitors that name 4 Pines Pale Ale as their ‘go to’ beer when visiting Australia. That is saying something!

4 pines stoutNext up was the Stout (5.1%) which is famous for being the worlds first ‘space beer’. Essentially, 4 Pines along with Saber Astronautics sent this stout into the stratosphere and it therefore became the first brew to be slurped in space. Back on Earth though, this Irish style stout is great. There is obvious evidence of chocolate and coffee on the nose with a soft, malt bitterness on the palate. A very not-over-the-top stout. Very enjoyable indeed.

Lastly was the Hefeweizen (5.2%). Hefe’s aren’t my favourite style of beer. I think that’s why, psychologically, 4 pines hefeweizenI left this one until last. I have nothing against the style but a Hefe must be a good Hefe for me to buy it again. The banana and spice that you’d expect to come across with a Hefe are there but not so as to make you cringe…which is what happens to me when I dive into a bad Hefe. Each to their own I guess. If I had to buy another Hefe, yes, I would grab a 4 Pines Hefe. I’m not just saying this to please Brad in case he ever reads this.

In fact, all four of the core 4 Pines beers are difficult to fault. I suppose this is why you’ll find them widely available and in a bottle shop very close to you. All four are perfectly pitched at the established and accomplished beer drinker as well as the beer drinker looking to step into the wonderful realms of craft beer; the type of person looking for some ‘gateway’ brews to help that motion pass.

4 Pines also brew some weird and wonderful Keller Door releases. These are simply that – brewed for taps only and available at the brewery through their cellar door (and at selected venues around Australia). In Brisbane, I’ve been lucky enough (and I mean lucky too because they are always superb) to try three of them in recent months; Black Forest Imperial Stout (8.0%), Christmas Ale 2012 (5.2%) and Hallertau Mittlefruh (5.0%).

Sadly, due to some unforeseen circumstances, I missed out on an evening with Brad at Tippler’s Tap a few weeks ago when three Keller Door beers were being tapped in one night. Ouch.

These awesome releases should not be missed so if you see them on tap, treat yourself and I reckon you’ll be impressed. That’s what makes the first bottled release rather special. Keep your eyes peeled for El Dorado!

Archive Bar and 4 Pines are providing a night of fun during Archive’s Beer Week next week. Click here for more details.

4 Pines...they love beer...me too.

4 Pines…they love beer…me too.

One thought on “4 Pines Brewing Co.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

