Google+

All Inn Brewing Co. – The launch

2

July 8, 2013 by 250 Beers

I first heard about a new brewery opening up on Brisbane’s north side a few months ago. I recall getting a little bit excited because I am a north-sider and what would be more sweeter than having a brewery up this way? Many other South East Queensland breweries are just a little bit too far for me to call ‘local’. These include Bacchus Brewing, Green Beacon, Noisy Minor, Fortitude Brewing, 4 Hearts, Sunshine Coast and, most recently, Brewbake. They are all just a smidgen out of reach.

All Inn Brewing Co. has been loitering with intent since November last year. Located in Banyo, the guys have been settling in slowly but surely; biding their time, getting the brewery fitted out, perfecting the brews and awaiting the all-important liquor licence.

I received a phone call last week from Head brewer/owner/nice bloke, Harley Goodacre, asking if I’d like to be present at the launch of All Inn Brewing Co. at The Scratch. I happily agreed. I was up for it. I was ‘inn’.

Harley’s big day was yesterday, Sunday 7th July.

All Inn Brewing Co. Tap Take-over at The Scratch

All Inn Brewing Co. Tap Take-over at The Scratch

I took Mrs 250 Beers along as well as the mini-250 Beers. It was great for the little ‘uns as it was all about the train rides for them. For me, it was all about sampling some locally produced beer. Having the wife close by was good because she helped me wade through the five beers being launched. She also posed as a hand model for me (her nails are better than mine).

Thankfully, the media scrum surrounding the unfortunate events last Friday in Milton had dispersed. Let’s hope the victim is on the mend and back at The Scratch slurping craft beer again very soon.

The sun was shining yesterday and the beers were flowing. We arrived shortly after 1pm and the place was already very busy. When I got to the bar, there were five girls making eyes at me….

All Inn Brewing Co. Beers

It’s been a long while since I’ve had five girls to choose from. Let me briefly introduce you to them.

Lucy, a session ale (3.5%), designed to spend an entire afternoon or evening with.

Penny, a pale ale (5.0%), lightly hopped and flavoursome.

Ruby, an amber ale (4.4%), sturdy and malty.

Pocahontas, an American IPA (5.6%), a hopped up version of Lucy with a stark dryness.

Betty, a porter (4.8%), dark and mysterious. Intriguing.

All of the girls had a sensible price tag so I had a try of each one. Every single one of them captured my full-on attention as soon as our lips met.

Not one of them let me down which was a bit surprising. I was half expecting to be turned off at least one the girls but I struggled to find fault with any. If I’m being ultra picky, Lucy had a slightly nutty edge to her. That’s just my personal opinion and something that my palate struggles with sometimes.

Can I pick a favourite? No, not really. If I had to single out a top performer it would be Pocahontas, the IPA. I can’t wait to try her again. There was real class about her and she oozed a hoppiness that I thoroughly enjoyed. Had the wife not been sitting there watching me get acquainted, I would have had a lot more of that American.

Giving Pocahontas a run for her money was Betty. Wow, Betty was performing marvellously on the hand-pump. A delectable porter that could be approached again and again for more. She just kept on giving.

Harley commented to me that not all of his beers are spot-on just yet. If the best is yet to come, then we’re in for a treat. Harley names Sunshine Coast Brewery and Stewart Brewing as previous employers and attributes the naming of his own outfit to the fact that he’s thrown everything at it. Being the nice chap that he is, he offered me a voucher that entitled me to drink freely on his tab. Foolishly, I’d introduced myself after buying beer number five, I regret not pouncing on him sooner!

I keep going on about an explosion of craft beer in this part of the world. It’s incredible to witness and be a part of. There is no place I’d rather be right now drinking good beer.

I hope to see all of the girls around town again very soon. If you see them, I urge you to try them. Oh, and tell them I said “Hi”.

All Inn Brewing Co., 189 Elliot Road, Banyo, QLD 4014. 1300 462 739

'Lucy' Session Ale

‘Lucy’ Session Ale

'Penny' Pale Ale

‘Penny’ Pale Ale

'Ruby' Amber Ale

‘Ruby’ Amber Ale

'Pocahontas' IPA

‘Pocahontas’ IPA

'Betty' Porter

‘Betty’ Porter

Me posing as Australia's Next Top Model in my All Inn Brewing Co. t-shirt!

Me posing as Australia’s Next Top Model in my All Inn Brewing Co. t-shirt!

2 thoughts on “All Inn Brewing Co. – The launch

  1. […] of an invite to Harley’s launch of All Inn at The Scratch last month (read all about it here), I was equally chuffed with the news last week that All Inn’s brewery bar was about to open […]

  2. […] of the All Inn Brewing beers were obviously new and unique. These were all first consumed at the launch at The Scratch; Betty Porter (4.8%), Lucy Session Ale (3.5%), Penny Pale Ale (5.0%), Pocahontas American IPA […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

