Google+

Hey, Mr Tamborine man…

2

April 24, 2013 by 250 Beers

A few Sundays ago, I strapped the wife and kids into the car and dragged them to the MT Brewery near Mount Tamborine for a Sunday drive and something for lunch. You can read about the day here.

I managed just two MT beers off tap while we were there. However, to ensure that I didn’t head home afterwards MT-handed I snared a mixed 6pack of bottled MT Brewery beers for the very sensible price of $20.

In this age of craft beer evolution, it’s not every day that a beer lover such as I will manage to pick up six very different beers for the equivalent of $3.30 per bottle. Result! Or was it?

Featured in the order in which they were consumed, here’s how they went down…

MT Brewery Moderation Golden AleModeration Golden Ale (2.8%). This was nothing like what I was expecting. Let’s face it, at 2.8% it was never going to blow me away. Early tastes were malt and caramel which evolved into toffee and biscuit. There’s no doubt about it, this beer got sweeter the further down the glass I got. It was bearable but certainly not a beer I’d describe as sessionable. I’d drink it again but only in ‘moderation’…2.5/5.0

Cuvée Belgian Blonde (5.2%). Not being a brewer, I have no idea how difficult it is to achieve results inMT Brewery Cuvee Belgian Blonde different styles of beer. Therefore, I have no clue if a Belgian Blonde is tricky to brew. Comparing this one to others I’ve had previously tells me that MT didn’t quite get this one right. It’s ok and I’d drink it again but it didn’t really scream Belgian Blonde at me – more of a Belgian Bland3.5/5.0

MT Brewery Rainforest LagerRainforest Lager (4.3%). Being a ‘macro lager only’ person is a thing of the past for me. Many evenings in years gone by were spent roaming the pubs of Islington and the West End of London pouring silly lager after silly lager down my throat. This is no more but it often means that when I come across a lager of the craft variety I take great interest. I have to say that this one is fairly good albeit pretty boring. There isn’t really much going on here. There aren’t any overwhelming characteristics shining through the forest here and it’sMT Brewery Settlers Wheat Beer inferior to the Rainforest Lager that I had off tap at the Brewery…3.0/5.0

Settlers Wheat Beer (4.8%). I was shitting myself whilst opening this one. Not only have I had the displeasure of drinking some awful wheat beers in the past but in the build-up to pouring this beer I’d read some negative things about it. One guy even had to pour the contents of his bottle down the sink after a solitary gulp! Thankfully, mine was actually very pleasant and I enjoyed it. It was extremely thirst quenching with just a very faint hint of citrus in there. Quite satisfying…4.0/5.0

MT Brewery Black CockatooBlack Cockatoo Schwarzbier (4.3%). I’m going to resist the temptation of cracking a smutty ‘black cock or two’ joke in favour of commenting just how nice this dark lager was. As with the Rainforest Lager, this was better off tap but unlike it’s lighter coloured stable-mate, this one stood up better in its bottled form. There were malty tastes straight away which gave way to some subtle hints of chocolate and coffee. The very soft sweetness remaining on my tongue left me wanting more. The carbonation was bang-on too. The closest, living thing available to me for the photo shoot was Charlie, our pet white cockateil. He’s not camera-shy…4.0/5.0MT Brewery St Bridget Dubbel

St Bridget Dubbel (7.2%). A bit of a fluke this as I’d inadvertently saved the best until last. I knew from my first sip of this beer that I’d live to regret coming home with just one of these! It was pretty damn fine and incredibly addictive. It’s the kind of beer that I struggle to put down. Everything about this Dubbel says ‘bold’. The only thing that prevented this drop gaining five-star status was that the taste of alcohol was a little bit too apparent. Nevertheless, a very tasty beer…4.5/5.0

So, there you have it. All in all $20 well spent I say.

It’s only my opinion, but I think if you live within an hour or so from a brewery you should go and pay it a visit especially if they serve food as well. You should go and make an afternoon of it. Take your partner and if he/she doesn’t want to help support local craft beer, then leave him/her at home and get involved alone!

MT Brewery, 165 Long Road, Eagle Heights 07 5545 2032

2 thoughts on “Hey, Mr Tamborine man…

  1. Phil McNulty says:

    Nice one mate! I’m heading there Sunday with the family!

  2. […] The next six beers are all from the MT Brewery; Black Cockatoo (4.3%), Cuvee Belgian Blonde (5.2%), Moderation (2.8%), Rainforest (4.3%), Settlers (4.8%) and St Bridget (7.2%). You can read all about them by clicking here. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

