Google+

March 2013: a round-up…

Leave a comment

April 12, 2013 by 250 Beers

March’s unique beer intake was 44.

44 beers that I’d never tried before March started.

I’d calmed down a bit since February’s 46. Only a bit though!

Here’s the obligatory chart:

March's intake of 44 unique beers - down 2 on last month (click for larger view)

March’s 44 unique beers – down two on last month (click for larger view)

Where, oh, where do I start?

A good place to start is the Noisy Minor Shout which took place in Brisbane on March 23rd. 230320132179I somehow managed put away 13 beers that day – 12 of which were new/unique to me. Some of them were very Noisy indeed. Here’s the newbie roll call for that day: Noisy Minor 14901 Anzus IPA (6.0%), Noisy Minor Doppelganger (8.1%), Noisy Minor Grim RIPA (7.4%), Noisy Minor Red Ryeding Hood (4.9%), Noisy Minor RSVP (6.2%), Noisy Minor Saison Froment (5.2%), Noisy Minor Three Dragons Burton Ale (6.9%), Noisy Minor Yastrebov (9.6%), 4 Pines Keller Door Hallertau Mittlefruh (5.0%), Bacchus German Porter (6.1%), Bridge Road/Nogne O Aurora Borealis (14.9%), Two Birds Golden Ale (4.4%). For the record, the thirteenth was another RSVP because it was simply irresistiblAustralian Brewery - Pale Alee!

There were a further 17 Australian beers to grace my palate last month. They were as follows: 4 Pines Stout and Pale Ale (both 5.1%) and also another of their Keller Door releases Christmas Ale (5.2%); The Australian Brewery’s Pale Ale (4.8%); another Bridge Road/Nogne O collaboration India Saison (7.5%); the Easter themed Belgian Dubbel Chocolate Ale Abstinence (7.4%) from Gage Roads; Holgate Brewhouse’s fantastic White Ale (5.0%) and their 10% Holgate Millennium Falcon1,000th brew Millennium Falcon Emperial IPA (you can read more about my exploits with Holgate beers here); Matso’s Brewery spiced up one of my week nights in March by letting me try their Matso's Chilli BeerChilli Beer (4.2%); I found McLaren Vale’s Lager (4.5%) on tap at The Villager which was a nice surprise. This is where I tried the 4 Pines Christmas Ale too; Moo Brew’s Dark Ale (5.0%) along with Temple Brewing’s Bicycle Beer (4.2%) and Midnight IPA (7.0%) Temple Midnight IPAcame home with me after a shopping trip in late Feb to Craft in Red Hill. It was this very same day that Dave Bonighton from Mountain Goat was in there at the same time as me. It seemed appropriate to also grab a bottle of his latest Rare Breed Fancy Pants (5.2%). He kindly signed my bottle but wouldn’t pose for a photo (I made that last bit about the photo up); Redoak Organic Pale Ale (4.6%)Redoak Organic Pale Ale; the latest Mash Collective beer called Aureus Chrysalis which is a 6.5% Dubbel Scotch Ale. This happened to be tapped just hours before I’d walked through the entrance at the Platform Bar in late March. Result; to wrap my Australian encounters up is a home-brew called Chocolate Stout (6.0%) from the Pisstol Pete microbrewery. Top effort from my mate Pete! Results from his recent brewing capers are proving extremely popular. No doubt there will be more on Pisstol Pete in my April round-up. Watch this space.Mash Collective Aureus Chrysalis (2)

That’s the Aussie beers out of the way. However, before I go on with the rest of March’s unique beer intake, it has to be said that Temple’s Midnight IPA and the Bridge Road Nogne O collaboration Aurora Borealis are two of the best beers around at the moment. They both tick all of the boxes for me. My shins are so sore from the constant kicking I’m giving myself for not grabbing more.

Another case of being in the right place at the right time was a random but brief visit to O’Malley’s on Queen Street Mall. I don’t really like the place but went there one lunchtime for a change and they were banging out $5 pints of Greene King’s Abbot Ale (5.0%) from England. Lucky me.

Wychwood ScarecrowAlso from England and down my throat in March were two from Wychwood – an Irish stout called Paddy’s Tout (4.3%) and their pale ale Scarecrow (4.7%); Robinson’s Old Tom (8.5%) and also the Old Tom with Chocolate (6.0%). Incidentally, the former was my 400th unique beer.

From New Zealand came Stoke Dark (4.5%) Innis & Gunn Irish Whiskey Cask Stoutand from Scotland I was blessed with Innis & Gunn’s Irish Whiskey Casked Stout (7.0%). I had this over Easter and it was just silky smooth yet robust. Happy Easter me.

I tried a couple of the Floris (Belgium) range last month. Both the Kriek (cherry) and the Passion weigh in at only 3.6%. Floris KriekI have to say that they were different to what I was expecting. Very fruity. Very nice. Not sure I’d buy either again but I get the impression that they’re sensible ‘gateway beers’ if you’re starting to venture into the Lambic variety.

March also saw Suntory Magnum Dry (5.0%) Suntory Magnum Drycreep onto my unique list. Suntory is a Japanese brewery but I think the one I had was contract brewed in China. It wasn’t shite. It was just average. I will avoid it in the future.

One other beer to be avoided is Kiss Destroyer (4.7%). Seriously, what a load of shit that is! I bought one bottle knowing it was going to be wanky but I didn’t realise just how mega-wanky it was going to be. I did a review as a public service. Read more here if you dare.

To finish on a high note, four of Mikkeller’s Hop Series IPA’s made the list. They were Amarillo, Centennial, Challenger and Nugget which all contained a 6.8% abv. These are great beers that should all be tried if you can find them. Each one containing a single hop variety and named accordingly. Superb.

Phew! That’s March wrapped up!

Until the next time…drink responsibly. That includes you Mrs 250 Beers and friends (you know who you are Rachael and Kristina). Last weekend was a terrible show of drunken debauchery.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

