Google+

Review: Matso’s – Chilli Beer

1

March 28, 2013 by 250 Beers

The very kind people at Matso’s Brewery in Broome, Western Australia recently sent me some of their latest release – Chilli Beer (4.2%).

Matso’s boast a range of regular beers. Some of which can be found frequenting the shelves in stores on the eastern seaboard. These are Pearlers Pale Ale (4.5%), Mango Beer (4.5%) and Smokey Bishop Dark Lager (4.7%). There is also cider and ginger beer in the Matso’s repertoire. All of these are bottled and can also be found at First Choice Liquor Stores as well as smaller establishments – a list of which can be found on the Matso’s website.

There is no sign of the Chilli Beer retailing in Queensland. In fact, it was only bottled a couple of weeks ago and launched at Fremantle’s Araluen Chilli Festival (March 9th/10th). It’s a limited release and only available at a handful of stockists in WA. I’m quite proud, therefore, to be one of the first people in Queensland to try it…..there’s a strong chance that I’m THE first.

Matso's Chilli Beer 4.2% elegantly posing with some of my home-grown chilli peppers. I've harvested more than 500 chillis off just two plants in less than five months!

Matso’s Chilli Beer 4.2% elegantly posing with some of my home-grown chilli peppers. I’ve harvested more than 500 chillies off just two plants in less than five months!

I approached this beer with a sensible amount of trepidation. Even though I’m a big fan of this small but sometimes venomous fruit (yes, it is a fruit I checked), I’ve been hurt before…

I wrote a short piece back in January about the Sunshine Coast Brewery’s Chilli Beer (4.6%). You can read it by clicking here. It produced quite an extraordinary feeling inside of me. Very overwhelming. I’d remarked that perhaps I’d had a rogue one. In retrospect, I think the blame lies with the actual bastard chilli pepper that they included in the bottle – in the beer. Or, more to the point, the blame lies with whoever’s bright idea it was to put one in every bottle. It was the first beer that I couldn’t/wouldn’t/didn’t finish.

I’ve actually reserved the publication of this blog post until the morning after drinking this newest Matso’s brew. This was just in case there were any ‘repercussions’. I know what you’re thinking and, no, I’m not being vulgar or crude. I’m a human being and so are you. I poo and so do you. I want to report on the whole truth and nothing but the poo-th. If the beer has consequences, you need to know about it.

It’s ok though, there were absolutely no issues to comment on. As it happens, this Chilli Beer is quite refreshing albeit in a hot and spicy way. I’d purposely chilled the bottles on a very cold setting in the fridge in a rather pathetic attempt to counteract the heat that I was going to let myself in for.

I should mention aromas. It is a beer review right? Well, the subtle whiff of chilli was evident on the nose. Surprise!

On the palate? Hmmmm…there was definitely a blast of chilli there. More of a zesty ‘zing’ as opposed to a nuclear explosion. The ‘zing’ didn’t hang around for too long either and I was left with a clean, crisp aftertaste.

Let’s face it, the average beer drinker doesn’t go out of his or her way to buy a Chilli Beer. It’s this fact that makes the beer somewhat of a novelty but not novel in a gimmicky kind of way. It’s nicely novel. Head brewer, Marcus Muller, has given some thought to the recipe rather than throw shit-loads of chilli peppers into the mix for a laugh.

I liked it! I gave it 4.0/5.0 on Untappd. Spice up your life and grab some if you happen to see it around!

4Star

One thought on “Review: Matso’s – Chilli Beer

  1. […] beers here); Matso’s Brewery spiced up one of my week nights in March by letting me try their Chilli Beer (4.2%); I found McLaren Vale’s Lager (4.5%) on tap at The Villager which was a nice surprise. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

