Google+

Mary had a little lambic

3

March 7, 2013 by 250 Beers

A couple of weeks ago I sat down one evening after the little ‘uns had hit the hay and pondered over what beer to have.

My beer fridge was pretty well stocked and, for no real reason, I opted to take the plunge and try a type of beer that would be totally new to me. I decided to lose my lambic virginity with a bottle of Timmermans Tradition Gueuze.

My first ever lambic - Timmermans Tradition Gueuze

My first ever lambic – Timmermans Tradition Gueuze

Whoever is distributing this stuff around Brisbane is doing a fine job as it seems to be appearing in every craft bottle shop that I’ve been to lately. It’s also started to pop up in a few eateries too. In fact, on the very same evening that I was drinking this bottle I started to read this by fellow Brisbane blogger ‘The Westbender’. Strange coincidence huh?!

Prior to my Timmermans I can honestly say that there is one main factor that’s kept me away from lambics or ‘sours’ before and that is the fear of tasting something shit. The word ‘sour’ brings back childhood memories of nasty medicines and the face that kids pulled whilst sucking on a ripe lemon.

Let me tell you that I my first impression of this beer was that it was thirst quenchingly crisp and it didn’t dry my face out like I was expecting it to. And it was far from being shit.

It was super-fizzy and the aftertaste was slightly sour but nothing like you’d think if you’ve never ventured into Lambicville.

Many of you reading this will know darn well what a lambic is. For those of you that don’t know, I’ll try to explain and I’ll do my best to keep it simple.

A lambic is a unique style of beer brewed in a Belgian region south-west of Brussels called Pajottenland*. Lambic is mainly consumed after refermentation.

Most brews are fermented carefully and strictly with yeast. However, lambics are exposed to bacteria and wild yeasts native only to the region. This causes a spontaneous fermentation. It is this natural reaction that gives lambic beers the ‘sour’ taste.

Different types of lambics include:

Gueuze

Kriek

Fruit

Faro

Mars

Pure lambic

Now, my exposure to Gueuze prompted me to find out that a Gueuze is in fact a bottled blend of old and new lambics. ‘Young‘ being approximately one year old and ‘old‘ being up to three years old. Because the baby lambics aren’t yet fully fermented, and because the mix contains fermentable sugars, a secondary fermentation (and carbonation) occurs after bottling.

There are many theories surrounding where the word ‘Gueuze’ (pronounced ‘gooze’ by an ex-Belgian colleague which I thought was rather apt as it rhymes with ‘booze’!). My favourite theory is that is comes from the Norman word for wheat which is, coincidentally, ‘gueuze’.

Anyway, Timmermans Tradition Gueuze…

I loved it. It opened my eyes to a different aspect of beer that I’d never seen before. I’d drink lambic beer again and I’ll be on the look out for others including those from the Cantillon Brewery (Brussels). Upon researching this post I came across many lambic fans that heaped praise on Cantillon and I’m intrigued.

Oh, and I don’t often go by the name of Mary.

 

*Bet you didn’t know that Pajottenland, when translated into Spanish, can mean ‘Wankland’ because ‘Paja’ (as a slang term) can be taken as ‘masturbate’ in Spain. Brilliant!

 

3 thoughts on “Mary had a little lambic

  1. A Cantillion gueze will be far more confronting to your palate than a Timmermans. My experience with Timmermans was mostly sweet rather than sour.

    also, available in Aus that I recommend

    Boon – Gueze (Marriage Parfait)
    de Ranke – Kriek/Gueze (and their XX bitter is brilliant too)
    Oude Beersel – Oude Kriek
    Rodenbach – Grand Cru (you can’t go to a bar without seeing it on tap in Melbourne atm)
    Brouwerij Verhaeghe – Duchesse de Bourgonone.

    The bottom two are flanders style so more vinegary. Be wary though, sours are an expensive habit and you’ll go crazy tracking them down once hooked.

  2. […] Two from Belgium – one was the world-famous wheat beer Hoegaarden (4.9%) which I scored a 4pack of for just $10. They were due out of date at the end of March. Result for me. I hadn’t had a ‘Hoey’ for approximately 15 years. It used to be a favourite of mine when I spent my time bouncing from pub to pub in Islington, London. Good times. The other Belgian beer was my first ever lambic or ‘sour’. Timmermans Tradition Gueuze (5.0%) got a blog post all to itself which you can read about here. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

