Google+

BWS (Brisbane Wants Some) *UPDATE*

Leave a comment

February 24, 2013 by 250 Beers

“Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to source Monteith’s IPA at a price of $10 for two 500ml bottles somewhere in Brisbane before the deal at BWS expires on Tuesday, 26th February 2013…”

So, after my rant yesterday about the lack of advertised Monteith’s IPA in Brisbane’s north-side, I found myself out and about in the car again today – Sunday, 24th February.

I’ve got to be honest, I’d given up hope of finding any before I’d even entered any of today’s stores. My Sunday driving/outing was more to prove to myself what a shitty piece of advertising it was/is on BWS’s behalf.

My first port of call was a small BWS store kind of in the middle of nowhere. There are lots of mini shopping precincts around. At least 25 per suburb I reckon! How do they all survive? The first stop-off was the fourth store in three days to be graced with my presence. As usual, the guy was pleasant enough but he’d not heard of Monteith’s IPA. I told him my story and that I was heading down the road to the next one (a bigger store) and he offered to call them for me. Excellent customer service! Unfortunately, the fifth BWS at Kallangur provided negative news albeit over the phone.

Bring on BWS number six. It was a drive-thru in Deception Bay (affectionately known by surrounding suburbs as Depression Bay). I was in the land of XXXX Gold and had more hope of having a beer with Mother Theresa than scoring some new IPA from a Kiwi brewery.

I pulled up, wound down the window and asked the guy if he had any Monteith’s. His reply was stunning…..”Mon-what?”

I already had the car in gear and was sliding the window up as I said “Don’t worry. Forget it!”

Would it be lucky number seven for me?

BWS number seven is small. Blink and you’d be forgiven for driving straight past. In I strolled and was greeted by two friendly looking chaps. Both were very keen to help. As usual, I ran through my pathetic attempt to locate some bottles of Monteith’s IPA.

I was now in full conversation with one of the guys. Justin was his name. Justin was the store manager.

Justin tried to look the beer up on his computer – quite possibly a BWS database. Sadly, but quite expected, to no avail.

So, BWS run a nationwide campaign and fail to stock any stores on the north of Brisbane. It also fails to get a mention on their own database. Excellent work BWS! Absolutely fantastic!

This is the worse bit……..because I’m like a kid in a toy shop where beer and bottle shops are concerned and because I visited lots of stores, I ended up spending $35 on beer not to mention the fuel!! I only wanted to spend a mere $10 on two bottles of an IPA! Aaarrgh!

When I finally get hold of some, I’ll let you know. I hope it’s good. It had better be!

I can’t finish this post without giving Justin another mention. He saw I was a bit pissed off and asked if I liked craft beer. I told him that I was in love with the stuff and he offered me the same deal (two bottles for $10) on Mad Brewers Hoppy Hefe – a 7.0% limited release from last year. I was very happy with that especially as they’re 640ml bottles and because I enjoyed it after its inception last year. We got to the check-out and he only charged me $9 for the pair. Superb customer service*.

I have no doubt that most ground-level staff at BWS are really good people. I just can’t say the same about the idiots ‘upstairs’.

 

*I should point out that I was well aware that Hoppy Hefe was past its best-before date. My inquisitiveness towards tasting the age of the beer overcame my scepticism of the deal. No retail trickery from Justin.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

