Google+

To brew, or not to brew.

7

February 22, 2013 by 250 Beers

image

Home-brew. Do I or don’t I?

You may have noticed that I have a fascination with beer – more specifically, craft beer. Being besotted with the stuff has not only started to take over my life (in an inquisitive way not in an alcoholic way) but it has lead to me paying more attention to what’s in the stuff and how it’s made.

With the opportunities to start home-brewing being in abundance, the temptation to have a dabble myself is becoming stronger. I can almost see Mrs 250 Beers shaking her head as she reads this. In fact if you listen carefully, you might even hear a feint ‘tsk-tsk’ as she tries to come to terms with yet another part of 250 Beers Towers being consumed by the beer factor.

I thought I’d better write down some pros and cons…

Pros

Help. There are five blokes at work (which is more than half the workforce) that are into home-brewing. So I have no shortage of people to ask if I get stuck.

The outlay cost. From the limited research that I’ve done, a basic full kit including bottles can cost as little as $90-$100.

The long-term cost savings. Obviously, doing this is far cheaper than buying beer from retailers. Will home-brewing stop me from buying new beers? No way! Although having my own concoctions at home may well stop me diving straight into a purchased one therefore enabling the procured beer to reside longer in my beer fridge.

Satisfaction. To be able to personally create something special is quite a nice thought.

Swapsies. Having so many colleagues that brew at home means that we could potentially all swap a few beers to provide some variety.

Cons

Where in 250 Beers Towers can the fermentation be left in peace? My preferred option would be the garage. However, even in winter my garage is ridiculously warm. Option two is the master bathroom. It’s always fairly steady in terms of a sensible temperature in there but the bathroom has to deal with a fair bit of traffic.

What if it turns out shit? I know, I know. This is the million dollar question that goes through most home-brewers minds every single time they put a new batch down. Can I deal with being let down? Hmmm, maybe. I’m no quitter. I’d have another shot at it.

Time. Due to a couple of mini-250 Beers running around, I rarely get the chance to even do a poo in peace let alone have time to do anything that requires lengthy dedication. I guess I could involve the eldest of the two but he’s already a bit freaked out by my beer lovin’. “Dad, why are you taking a photo of your beer?” He just doesn’t get it. Bless.

Hmmmmmmmm. Decisions. I’ll keep you posted. Comments/suggestions welcome as usual.

7 thoughts on “To brew, or not to brew.

  1. Allan says:

    I’ll help you out… If you are looking at Kits only.. Forget it, the results aren’t great. I only say this because you seem to have a passio for beer.

    Mini mashing makes a massive difference to Kits, but that is extra effort… There are mini mashed kit beers that win comps.

    The thing with Kits.. you need that gear anyway. You will need the fermentation side of things, possibly the bottle capper etc so its not a waste regardless.

    If you are going to go all grain, then its pretty simple to make good beer. BIAB can be relatively cheap to start and is almost as easy as making tea.. give or take 4 hours.

    Its not cheaper cost wise, but if you are drinking good craft you dont mind parting with coin.

    You need a fermentation fridge imho. Run a temp controller off it and maintain a steady temperature.

    I keg my beer, and find I dont drink a lot of it, since im always trying new Commercially made beers…

    Love brewing though, its well worth the hard work.

  2. Sechys Diary says:

    My dad makes a really good home brew. He has no room for storage either but there is a place in Brisbane that look after it for him while its brewing. And it’s not expensive, I mean he’s a pensioner so he does it to save money. I’m sorry I’m commenting on impulse here so I don’t have any more info but I can always ask? Anyway, I think you should definitely experiment with home brewing, the cons on your list can all be striked off 🙂 good luck!

  3. Ross Kenrick says:

    With your love of craft beer & your desire to maybe get into home brewing it is probably time you took the trip down to Capalaba. Bacchus Brewing (Qld’s most exciting micro brewery) & CraftBrewer (probably Australia’s No.1 homebrew shop) are both under the same roof, literally on your doorstep. Brewing is a very simple process & we can guide you through the process to making beers every bit as good as you can purchase. If the home brewing doesn’t grab you, we have 27 beers on tap here at the brewery, so either way it should be an eventful trip.

    Cheers
    Ross
    Bacchus Brewing Co & CraftBrewer.

    • 250 Beers says:

      Ross, I can’t tell you how much I have enojoyed the few Bacchus brews that I’ve tried. I can confirm that I was extremely close to coming in last weekend! I was in Cleveland but I simply ran out of time. Unfortunately, Bacchus isn’t quite on my doorstep as I live nearly 50kms north of Brisbane. Soon, though Ross! I promise!!

  4. 250 Beers says:

    ‘Just North Of Brisbane’ didn’t seem to have the same ring to it! Ha ha!
    I will definitely make myself known when I get there. Are you there most Saturdays?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

