Google+

Green Beacon Brewing Co. – Their time is now…

Leave a comment

January 25, 2013 by 250 Beers

Brisbane’s ever-growing beer scene had been waiting patiently for information on Green Beacon’s opening ever since news broke of their existence in June/July last year.

Late 2012 saw it confirmed that the brewery would open their doors some time in January 2013. This was cemented when Green Beacon announced that they would coincide their opening with the Australia Day public holiday weekend.

And then…a few days after the announcement…I received an invitation…

Industry launch night invite

Industry launch night invite

Great, right? Not quite. The 24th January coincided with Mrs 250beers being interstate on business leaving me with the kids taking priority over beer. Nooo!

She begins to utter the sort of sentence that wives think their husbands want to hear “Some things just aren’t meant to be, Babe.”

Clearly, she was overlooking the importance of me being on a guest list at an event surrounding the hottest topic in Brisbane right now! A ‘before-they’re-open-to-the-public’ sneak peek into Teneriffe’s first boutique craft brewery and ale works was going to pass me by. It was like possessing tickets for a Football Grand Final and not being able to go because I’d been invited to a wedding on the same day. Nooo!

I didn’t talk to anybody for a couple of days. I sulked around the house like a teenager banned from his xbox. Then something awesome happened. Stars started to align. My mother-in-law and one of my sister-in-law’s came to the rescue and offered to take on the evening shift at my place and look after the kids.

My evening with Green Beacon was suddenly given the green light to go!

green beaconI managed a cheeky early departure from work and got to Helen Street for the 5pm kick-off.

I was immediately impressed with the way they’d fitted the place out. It’s quite minimalistic but not in an artificial way. It’s got a raw industrial feel to it with a smooth charm to balance it out. It’s a working environment that needs to double as a space for patrons too I guess? Well, it works! I had arrived alone so I had time to look around. I happened to notice a shit load of what I assume to be original louvre windows situated up high running the length of the building. They brought authenticity to the building and would bring in some decent light during daylight hours. They looked great!

I actually took a few photo’s inside but I’ve decided not to publish them. You need to see it and experience it for yourself!

Now, the beer…

I’m still a lover of IPA’s (more on their IPA in a moment) but the first beer that I sampled was the Penny Porter (5.3%). This choice was solely because I had a craving for a porter and I didn’t want anything else on my palate beforehand. It’s a gem. I loved it. It was everything that I was hoping for and more. Great start! Mid-way through my porter I was greeted with a handshake from Marc, the beardier co-founder of Green Beacon. He was putting himself out there doing the rounds and meeting people. Jolly nice chap.

Next up for me was an Anchor Amber Ale (4.1%). Again, a great beer. A decent malt taste that grew on me with every mouthful. I drank this one rather quickly because I fancied another of the same. However, by the time I’d got to the bar, I’d walked past a few people that were talking up the 3 Bolt Pale Ale so I opted for that instead. Why not?

The pale ale is very crisp and very good. If I hadn’t had the car to steer home, I would’ve sat on this beer all night long. It’s a very clean beer and, at 4.5%, very sessionable. It has floral characteristics which bring a very healthy freshness to it and a soft, bright white head that stayed with me until the end. Beautiful!

Sadly, I needed to depart earlier than hoped. My journey home isn’t short and I was reliant on a bus, a train and then my car in shitty wet weather. Disappointed that I hadn’t poured an IPA down my gullet, I purchased a Squealer for $10 (mine to keep) and had one of Green Beacon’s efficient staff fill it with Windjammer IPA (5.5%) for a sensible fee. I can now be pleasured by drinking a Green Beacon brew at home this weekend!

My Green Beacon 'squealer' full of Windjammer IPA

My Green Beacon ‘squealer’ full of Windjammer IPA

Last night was another step forward in the essential evolution of beer in Brisbane. Long may that continue.

Green Beacon Brewing Co. – great people, great place and – most importantly – great beer. Thank you for your hospitality guys. I will be back soon to fill up my Squealer again and to give the Wayfarer Wheat Beer and the Cross Knot Kolsch a try.

I’d highly recommend a visit to Green Beacon as soon as you can. You can find them at 26 Helen Street, Teneriffe, QLD 4006.

Keep up to date with all things Green Beacon by clicking here.

green beacon brewing co.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

