Google+

300up, Beer Nerds, Beer Geeks and Beer Wankers

Leave a comment

January 14, 2013 by 250 Beers

300xOn the 11th January 2013, my tally of unique beers consumed hit 300. To mark the occasion I cracked open a 2012 Celebration Ale by Sierra Nevada. The celebration wasn’t really about me racking up 300 it was more a celebration in itself that I’d eventually managed to lay my hands on a Celebration Ale.

Stock is limited here in Brisbane and I’d missed out on previous releases. It was, of course, a Friday – the end of the working week – and that needed toasting to as well. Any excuse to pop the top off that beer really! The intense hop hit was well worth the wait.

sierra nevada celebration ale

Does it make me a Beer Nerd that I’ve waited so long for a Celebration Ale to crop up in the vicinity? Maybe.

As well as Beer Nerds there are apparently a number of different types of beer drinkers out there. Categories that I’ve only been exposed to since being amongst the craft beer loving fraternity.

Another is the Beer Geek. Somebody that analyses everything intensely from the IBU to the finer details such as what glass to pour his/her beer into. From my experience, the Beer Geek is a friendly type that wishes to share his/her geekness with others in a non-preaching way.

Beer snobbery is another category. According to the Urban Dictionary, a Beer Snob is an individual that regards any beer that they do not drink as piss. I have definitely come across a few of these types in recent months! These snobs DO like to preach.

Sadly, there are a number of Beer Wankers out there too. Now, I have a small issue. A wee gripe with a couple of these types.

Over the past few weeks I’ve received emails from two unconnected individuals from New South Wales that will remain anonymous as they don’t deserve a mention. They have both deemed my running total as rather shite. ‘Soft’ was one expression. ‘Pathetic!’ was another.

I’m sorry, but when the heck was this ever a competition?!

I started meandering along the avenue of craft beer in October 2010. I’ve gone at my own pace and on my own budget. Let’s not forget that not all of us are kid-free, mortgage-free or get sent hoards of free beer. It’s also worth noting that I live in a part of the world that isn’t flush with outlets selling wonderful beers (although this is slowly changing thank goodness).

I follow a lot of beery people on social networking sites and not one of them feels the need to be big-headed about the uniqueness of their drinking. James from BeerBarBand has sucked down over 1,000 different beers in the same amount of time as I’ve been going. He doesn’t feel the need to contact me and suggest keeping pace with him. It begs the question “Why on earth would people feel the need to have a dig at me – a fellow craft beer drinker?”

I’ll tell you why – because they are wankers. Simple.

Personally, I see myself in the very wide category of the Beer Lover. Somebody that loves drinking all kinds of beer no matter what type it is and no matter where it’s from – somebody that embraces ‘beer’ as a whole. I love looking at photos of beer and taking them too. Okay, okay – this part of me slips into the Beer Nerd category. I admit that. I also keep a log of what beers I’ve consumed and when (since Jan 2013 via Untappd). Shit, until recently, I’ve kept hold of the empty bottle of every unique beer – with the bottle cap too! NERD!

As usual, comments welcome.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

