Google+

Christmas Beer Stash in review. Part 3…

1

January 11, 2013 by 250 Beers

Here goes then. Part 3 of my 31-strong Christmas Beer Stash reviewed…kind of…

Wed 26th Dec 2012 – Boxing Day

Hopinator Double IPA – Holgate Brewhouse (Australia) 7.0%

holgate hopinator double IPA4.5StarI started my Boxing Day ‘sesh’ with a DIPA from Holgate mainly because I happen to enjoy a decent IPA. I wanted to start my Boxing Day drinks with a beer that I’ve wanted to try for a while.

I wasn’t let down and I must state that this is almost as good as it gets for me. 4.5 stars.

I loved it. It poured a very inviting red/brown and the whiff of hops immediately hit me. Same thing happened upon tasting. A very brutal hit of bitterness followed by a sense of soft malty caramel. This is an extremely tasty and sessionable IPA in my opinion. It left me wanting more…

Hop Rod Rye Ale – Bear Republic (USA) 8.0%

bear republic hop rod rye ale4Star

The Hop Rod Rye is the first Bear Republic brew to have made it’s way onto my beer list. I’ve been teased for some time by some great reviews of the brewery and thought it was about time I tried one. I opted for this Rye IPA mainly because of those 3 favourite letters of mine…..an ‘I’, a ‘P’ and an ‘A’.

This is quite an intense IPA and, at 8.0%, so it should be. The amber/ruby colour was topped by a semi-decent head. I was immediately impressed with the way the sweetness was well balanced by the hop hit. I thoroughly enjoyed the earthiness to this beer and the undertones that the rye brought to it. I’d certainly give this another seeing to. 4 stars.

The Boxing Day beer session was brought to an abrupt end due to the arrival of some spirits. No, you crazy fool, I wasn’t taking part in a seance! Merely, I started tucking into some bourbon, rum and scotch instead (not in the same glass though obviously). Tomorrow is another day…

Thursday 27th Dec 2012

Australian Ale – Bridge Road Brewers (Australia) 4.4%

Bridge Road Australian Ale3.5Star

Check out that glass of absolute amber heaven! Just the look of this Australian Pale Ale made me want to guzzle it down in one go. Despite the temptation I didn’t. I sipped it and enjoyed it properly.

Bridge Road‘s original brew, this beer really is the epitome of what I think an Australian Ale should be – easy on the nose, easy on the palate, very drinkable, not too heavy and not too light, gentle tastes and very well balanced. If you’re looking for all of these characteristics for any occasion then go grab yourself some.

Reserve Amber Ale 2011 – Endeavour Beverages (Australia) 5.2%

endeavour reserve amber ale 20113StarI’d managed to pour quite a few bottles of Endeavour‘s Pale Ale back in November 2010. I loved the drinkability of it so I have no idea why it’s taken me so long to hook the Amber Ale. Anyway, that issue is now rectified and I can proudly say that I’ve tried all 3 of Endeavours brews. The most recent addition of course is the Growers Ale.

As the name suggests, the beer pours a deep amber colour (slightly cloudy) with a minimum head. Strong malt tastes help keep the complexity throughout and the hops ensure a spicy bitterness. I have no doubt that I’ll drink this again – with or without the assistance of a snow globe.

Beer Camp #45 Oatmeal Stout – Sierra Nevada (USA) 9.0%

sierra nevada beer camp 45 oatmeal stout3StarWhen it comes to breakfast, if you put a plate of bacon and eggs in front of me and bowl of oatmeal or cereal you can bet your house on the fact that I will ALWAYS nudge the bowl aside and rip into the bacon and eggs. Always. Forever and ever. Amen.

So, when I saw the word ‘oatmeal’ in the name of a Sierra Nevada beer I shuddered. However, I was surprised at the result.

This is my 4th and final 2012 Beer Camp beer and it’s a good stout. Not a great stout. Just a good one. Perhaps it should have been called an imperial oatmeal stout as it’s a bit of a big boy at 9.0% abv? Check out the thick ‘n’ chunky, robust head above – full of creamy bitterness. The tastes are predominantly that of roast malts with hints of chocolate with not too much oatmeal at all to be honest. Like I said, a decent stout but I won’t be running around naked screaming from the rooftops that stout lovers must try this one. 3 stars.

One thought on “Christmas Beer Stash in review. Part 3…

  1. […] 330ml to 500ml status and as such boasts the new label design too. I had the older version over Christmas. Again, this is a very, very good beer. It got a 4.5/5.0 rating from me then and I haven’t […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

