Google+

Dryness fail with a chilli kick

2

January 9, 2013 by 250 Beers

I happened to be in the vicinity of Archive Bar in Brisbane’s West End recently. I felt like a tiny iron filing trying to skirt around an industrial strength magnet desperately trying to avoid being sucked in.

Ten minutes later I was walking out of there with 6 new beers to try.

Whoops.

I’m a pathetic appreciator of beer that’s all.

A few days later, I was sizzling some meat on the BBQ watching the sun retire for the day over some mountains in the distance. It was one of those moments where nothing but a beer in the opposing hand to the tongs would suffice.

Out came a very cold Chilli Beer by Sunshine Coast Brewery. Those that know me will be well aware that my tolerance for spices and hot food is quite high. For some reason, I love spicy food. Why the heck would I not enjoy a beer infused with chilli?

Sunshine Coast's Chilli Beer with a few of my own home-grown chilli's

Sunshine Coast’s Chilli Beer with a few of my own home-grown chilli’s

I’ll tell you why……..

Because it blew my head right off that’s why!! When taking in a beer for the very first time one of my rituals is to take a largish mouthful (versus a sip). I take this mouthful, swish it around in my mouth briefly and appreciate everything there is to it. Then ponder the aftertaste etc etc

In this Chilli Beer instance the very second it left my mouth and passed my throat I can honestly tell you that it felt like a meteor with a scorching trail blazer was making it’s way to my guts. I pictured my inners beginning to fall apart. I imagined my stomach lining starting to look worse than Freddie Kruger’s face. I turned to the wife and made this comment…”I feel like I’ve been possessed”.

This beer had more kick than an international karate event.

I respect what Sunshine Coast have done and I even thought the chilli pod inside the bottle was a decent idea. However, for the first time in ages, the chilli got the better of me. I couldn’t finish the beer.

Since I emigrated to Australia I’ve never found myself in a situation where I couldn’t finish a beer. I’ve been close with Gage Roads London Best and I hate to admit defeat but this one just got the better of me.

Maybe I had a rogue one?

2 thoughts on “Dryness fail with a chilli kick

  1. […] in January about the Sunshine Coast Brewery’s Chilli Beer (4.6%). You can read it by clicking here. It produced quite an extraordinary feeling inside of me. Very overwhelming. I’d remarked […]

  2. […] old review, but one of a style that is almost universally fucked up – the chilli beer (see Darren’s review of Sunshine Coast Chilli Beer). The closest to a win so far has been Moondog’s Chipotle Bock […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

