Google+

Christmas Beer Stash in review. Part 2…

Leave a comment

January 8, 2013 by 250 Beers

Following on from Part 1, here is Part 2 of my Christmas beer journey

Mon 24th Dec 2012 – Christmas Eve

Summer Ale – Monteith’s Brewing Co. (NZ) 5.0%

2.5StarYou’ll notice an abundance of Monteith’s beers in my Beer List. My Christmas Stash contained 3 Monteith’s that I hadn’t tried before. Now that Christmas is out of the way, the list of Monteith’s has hit double figures. I must enjoy Monteith’s beers right? Yes, you’re dead right but this Summer Ale isn’t one of their best. I felt a little bit let down. Pre-Christmas I would’ve rated Monteith’s as one of my favourite mainstream NZ breweries. Very much above average but now I’m not so sure.

They’re nowhere near crap just simply now hovering in no-mans land. It feels as though no real thought has been put into this brew. It’s not a ginger beer so why is there a hint of ginger in the mix? 2.5 stars.

Yes, it’s quite refreshing in the midst of a hot Summer’s day but then so is dangling my balls in the ice tray of a freezer. To be honest, I would drink it again but only if I was really thirsty and only if somebody else bought it for me and only if it came from a fridge that was nowhere near the freezer that I’d been dipping my balls into.

Old Peculier – Theakstons (England) 5.6%

Theakstons Old Peculiar4StarI know what you’re thinking. Why on earth is Charlie the Cockatiel appearing in the photo? Peculiar right? Exactly! Theakston’s Old Peculier to be precise.

Theakston have been brewing in the north of England for 185 years. Enough time to perfect the art of brewing decent beers. Most of their beers don’t make it over to Australia. I assume the main reason why Old Peculier is sold here is in part because of it’s fame for winning numerous awards over the years. It’s the brewery’s most well-loved beer. And why not. Of course, Old Peculier is better off tap (last enjoyed a few years ago back in England). However, the bottled variety is still very good. It pours a deep, dark ruby colour and is crowned with a smooth and creamy head that hangs around for the duration. It’s a very bold yet smooth beer. I only drank one bottle but I could have easily sat on 3 or 4. Memories of cold winter nights sat around a crackling log fire in secluded 200-year old pubs in Kent came flooding back. 4 stars.

Tues 25th Dec 2012 – Christmas Day

Landlord – Timothy Taylor (England) 4.1%

3Star

I was on chef duty at 250 Beers HQ for the duration of Christmas Day and I’d promised everybody that a grand total of 11 different foods will be served on their plates. A full-on traditional English roast lunch was planned. I had to stay sober!

Due to visitors, everything started running late and I started getting tetchy. I needed a beer. Seeing as though I was running the show, nothing seemed more appropriate than a Landlord. The added bonus was that a Timothy Taylor Landlord weighs in at only 4.1% abv. This wasn’t going to get me squiffy. During my beer drinking years in the UK I had never tried this beer and I’d walked past it in bottle shops here in Australia for years too. It’s time had come and I enjoyed it. Quite simply it’s a jolly decent golden coloured pale ale and extremely sessionable with it’s low abv. I won’t ignore it again. 3 stars.

Special London Ale – Wells & Young’s Brewing Co (England) 6.4%

special london ale wells & young's4StarIn keeping (not ‘inn-keeping’ as per the nativity scene) with the English theme I decided to drink a Special London Ale with my meal.

This is simply a great classic English beer. A little bit of everything involved from gentle hoppiness to light citrus with caramel malt. It pours a very appealing deep amber colour and it complimented my roast lunch perfectly. I tucked into both the food and the beer with a childish grin on my face for the duration. Oh, yum. 4 stars.

PranQster – North Coast Brewing Co. (USA) 7.6%

north coast brewing pranqster2.5StarI’ve fast become a fan of North Coast Beers. So much so that 4 different North Coast brews made their way into my 2012 Christmas Stash.

A Belgian style golden ale, PranQster is one of North Coast’s ‘Ultra Premium’ beers hitting home at 7.6% abv. I really didn’t mind the floralness of this one but I was left with a very sour yeasty aftertaste which wasn’t to my liking. The yeast seemed a heck of a lot more full-on than any Belgian type beer that I’ve tried before. Admittedly, it didn’t prevent me from finishing the bottle. It was Christmas Day after all and with ’tis the season to be jolly’ in mind, this strong beer helped the jolliness. I hit the bourbon after this one.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive instant notifications of new 250 Beers posts.

250 Beers beer tally

Tags

4 Hearts 4 Pines 8 Wired AIBA All Inn Brewing Co Amager Bryghus Anchor Brewing April Fool Archive Bar Armakeggon Australian Beer Connoisseurs Bacchus Beer Bloggers Series Bacchus Brewing Baird Brewing Banyo Beard and Brau Bear Republic Beer Advent Calendar Beer Camp Beer Fest Beer Glass Beer Here Beer InCider Beer InCider Social Club Beer Mail Beer of Origin Belgian Bitter Suite Black Hops Brewing Brewbake Brewcult Brewhouse Brisbane Brewski Brewsvegas Brewtal Brewers Bridge Road Brisbane Brisbane Brewhouse Brisbane Brewing Co. Burleigh Brewing Co BWS Calibre Craft Beer Trading Cardigan Bar Cartel Bar Cavalier CBIA Chilli Beer Christmas Coles Coopers Craft Beer Rising Craft Red Hill Dragonhead Ekim Embassy Craft Beer Bar Feral Brewing Five Flavours Fortitude Brewing Co. Fortitude Valley Founders GABS Gage Roads Gluten Free Beer Good Beer Week Good Food & Wine Show Grand Central Cellars Green Beacon Green Flash Brewing Co Grifter Hair Of The Blog Hawthorn Brewing Co Hipwood Brewery Holgate Brewhouse Hoo Ha Bar Hop-X IPA Ipswich James Squire Kerbside Kooinda Lager Lambic Lion Little Creatures Lowenbrau Mad Brewers Mantle Group Matilda Bay Matso's McLaren Vale Melbourne Mikkeller Milton Monteith's Moo Brew Moon Dog Mornington Peninsula Mountain Goat Movember MT Brewery Mt Tamborine Murray's Nail Brewing Co Newstead Brewing Nogne O Noisy Minor Brewing Co. North Coast Brewing Co NOvemBEER O'Brien Orkney Brewery Pale Ale Pig 'n' Whistle Platform Bar Porter Pumpyard Bar & Brewery QLD Beer Week Queensland Queensland Rail Rare Breed Red Hill Riverlife Rogue Sail & Anchor Sierra Nevada Single Batch Sniff & Sip Spiegelau Spring Hill Statler & Waldorf Steamrail Brewing Co. Stone & Wood Stout Sunshine Coast Brewery Temple Brewing Theakston's The Burrow The Charming Squire The Gold Digger The Mill On Constance The Scratch The Session Tippler's Tap Tomahawk Bar Tooheys Toybox Brewery Tuatara Two Birds Brewing Untappd XXXX Yeastie Boys

Archives

